2016 TSR: (Insert Title Here)

I can’t think of a good title or introductory paragraph for this post, so let’s just tear open another pack of 2016 TSR…

2016 TSR wrapper Series Two

Corey Seagar is having a notable season, and was named the National League Rookie Of The Month for June.
2016 TSR #136 - Corey Seager
In June, Corey Seager lead rookies with a .343 average, 8 homers, 20 runs, 8 doubles, and also had 13 RBI.  It doesn’t seem like he gets as much mention as Aledmys Diaz, Kenta Maeda or Trevor Story, but Seager has to be in any Rookie Of The Year conversation.

The first insert in this pack came from me playing with some of the options in my graphics software a few months ago.  There’s a script that comes with my copy of Paint Shop Pro 9 that is called “black and white pencil”, and when I played with it, I thought the results looked enough like a sketch card that I thought I’d introduce a new insert set:  “Not A Sketch Card”.
2016 TSR Not A Sketch Card #1 Francisco Lindor

I’m still playing with these, and I’ve got an idea that I’m going to try in the future that involves printing one of these out and augmenting them, and then scanning the resuult… which would make it “Largely Not A Sketch Card”… But we’ll see how that goes.

While I’m featuring a non-sketch-card of Francisco Lindor, I have to say… Is this a great time to be a Cleveland sports fan or what?  The Cavaliers won the NBA championship, the Indians are in first and set a franchise record with a 14-game winning streak, the AHL’s Lake Erie Monsters (who share their home arena with the Cavs) won the Calder Cup.  I’m 50 years old, and I can’t think of a better time for Cleveland.

The next two customs are for guys who have been godsends for my fantasy baseball team… even though I’m in 5th place (and climbing!) I hate to think of where I’d be without these two.

…and I completely understand that nobody gives a flying… something…  about my fantasy team, but it’s mainly an excuse to feature two players who are having excellent seasons.

Nolan Arenado leads the NL with 66 RBI, is tied for 2nd with 22 HR’s and is tied for fourth with a .576 slugging percentage.  According to ESPN, he ranks 8th in the Majors in Wins Above Replacement (a stat I find interesting, even if I don’t understand how it’s calculated).
2016 TSR #175 - Nolan Arenado

Yes, his numbers are inflated by playing in Denver, but interestingly enough, his home/road splits for hits and homers are nearly equal.

Josh Donaldson is second in the A.L. with 69 runs, third in triples with 5, and fourth with a .401 on-base percentage.  He ranks 4th in WAR (behind Mike Trout, Clayton Kershaw and someone who appears later in this post.)
2016 TSR #225 - Josh Donaldson
…and, of course, he his the reigning AL MVP.

Topps irritated me when Heritage was released earlier this year. If you looked at the World Series cards and didn’t pay close attention to the numbering, one could think that the Royals swept the Mets in the 2015 World Series. NOT TRUE! The Mets kicked some Royal butt in Game 3, but Topps neglected to make a card for that game. I guess it didn’t fit in their checklist, or didn’t fit their narrative.  Something like that.

I’ve been meaning to correct this oversight, and I’ve finally got the results here…
2016 TSRChives 67T-1 WS Game 3 Thor Shuts Down Royals
Although Topps has bumped up the number of Mets who appear in base and insert sets, they seemed determined to obscure the fact that the Mets were in the World Series… There aren’t even many cameo appearances of Mets on World Series-themed cards, and Mets fans have very little to commemorate their teams’ NL Championship. Thanks a bunch, Topps.

Bitter diatribe aside, let’s get to Wil Myers. The former A.L. Rookie Of The Year was the N.L. Player Of The Month For June… this despite having his bat glued to his helmet.
2016 TSR #166 - Wil Myers
In June, Myers batted .327, scored 25 runs, hit 11 homers and had a .765 slugging percentage.

Jose Altuve was the A.L. Player Of The Month for June, and is the answer to the question of “So who is ranked 2nd in the Majors in WAR?”  In June, Altuve batted .420, had 19 runs, 6 doubles, a triple, 4 homers, 15 RBI, and stole 6 bases. He also reached base in every game in June.
2016 TSR #167 - Jose Altuve
He’s currently leading MLB with a .355 batting average.

I guess you’d also want to know that Mike Trout is the WAR leader and Clayton Kershaw is third.

I’m going to wrap this up with a custom that’s a “long distance request” (to put it in the terminology of American Top 40); Last week I did two customs of the Mariners & Cardinals wearing 1984 uniforms, and by popular demand, I made another custom featuring another team that wears throwbacks that are appropriate to 1984:
2016 TSRchives 84F-3 Brett Lawrie

Since I just mentioned American Top 40 and lacked for better ideas, I was going to finish off with a quote from the #1 song from this week 40 years ago (while not knowing what that song was).

…Then I found out that song was “Silly Love Songs” by Paul McCartney & Wings, and I decided to instead provide a list of songs of questionable merit which hit #1 in 1976:

“Convoy” by C.W. McCall
“Boogie Fever” by The Sylvers
“Silly Love Songs” by Wings
“Afternoon Delight” by Starland Vocal Band
“Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” by Elton John & Kiki Dee
“Disco Duck” by Rick Dees & His Cast Of Idiots

2 thoughts on “2016 TSR: (Insert Title Here)

Leave a Reply

