Quality Assortment: Sucked In By The Changing Of The Guard

On Wednesday evening I was at Target looking for a couple of items which were on sale. The card aisle was not explicitly part of my plans, but I checked to see if there’s anything new out that I’d missed.

There was something new… sort of. They had hanging packs of Topps Series 2 which came with a bonus “Changing Of The Guard” cards on the front. After poking through the different packs they had, I found one that would fit in my collection.
2016 Topps Changing Of The Guard Manny Machado
It’s not a particularly attractive card, but as impulse buys go, I’ve done a lot worse.

By the way, the Topps logo and the Oriole bird logo is in gold foil which scans dark.  The gold foil bird against a dark background looks kind of odd, to be honest.

Other players in this set are Mike Trout, Kris Bryant, Bryce Haper, Buster Posey, Carlos Correa, Kyle Schwarber, Giancarlo Stanton, Madison Bumgarner and Jose Fernandez.

As a Mets fan, I wish to complain… No deGrom, Syndergaard or Harvey? Topps missed out on an opportunity to sell me more Series 2 packs (and dudes, I seriously don’t know whether I’ll buy more 2016 Topps, unless it comes out of a dime box).

I also wish to complain about the inclusion of Buster Posey. He’s 29, was the Rookie of the Year 6 years ago, the MVP 4 years ago, how is that “Changing Of The Guard”? He already is ‘The Guard’.

OK, enough about the Changing Of The Guard.  The rest of my assortment is made up of recent acquisitions from COMC.

First we shall cleanse the pallet with a fine 1965 vintage…
1965 Topps Bill McCool
The official reason I got this card was to further my collection of cards featuring the Topps All-Star Rookie trophy.  The unofficial reason was CHEAP 1965!  …And honestly, what else do you need?

As a 19-year-old in 1964, McCool pitched mostly in relief, had 7 saves, a 2.42 ERA and a 1.063 WHIP. He was also named by The Sporting News as the N.L. Rookie Pitcher of the Year.

There’s no truth to the rumor that Billy McCool is related to 1960’s cartoon secret agent Cool McCool.

Speaking of cartoons, here’s the back of McCool’s card:
1965 Topps Bill McCool back

Moving about 40 years into the future, here’s a lovely 2004 MLB Showdown card of Bartolo Colon. This card reflects Colon’s one year with the White Sox (take note, anyone working on a “Short-Term White Sox” post), but in 2004 he would win 18 games for the Angels, and then the Cy Young in 2005.
2004 MLB Showdown Bartolo Colon

Wrapping things up, I got a cheap Mets signature, but one of special interest to Mets fans. Collin Cowgill only appeared in 23 games for the Mets and batted below the Mendoza Line. So what makes this card of special interest?
2013 Topps Chasing History Autographs Collin Cowgill
It’s special because this appears to be one of only two cards which pictures Cowgill with the Mets… and the other one is another 2013 Topps “Chasing History” autograph card.  This one commemorates Cowgill not making an error in his first 60+ games as a Major Leaguer… The other one commemorates his becoming the first Met to hit a grand slam on opening day in his first day with the team.

I feel like I should have some sort of ending to wrap things up, but I’m only coming up with one….

The End.

Leave a Reply

