2016 TSR: Naaaaah, We’re Outta Bear Claws!

Once again, we rip into a wax pack of 2016 TSR. One of these days, I’ll need to do a rack pack.
2016 TSR Series Three wrapper thumb
Hmmmm… Rack pack….

OK, so Friday night I was driving around and listening to the Mets and Marlins, and the Marlins announcer was talking about how ‘Bear Claw’ was pitching.

…And I said ” ‘Bear Claw’? Is that his name?”

I started wondering if he were of First Nation descent, like Jay Silverheels or Ashley Callingbull.

Then I thought of the pastry called a bear claw, which in turn made me think of “Weird Al” Yankovic’s sprawling epic track, “Albuquerque”, which is where the subject line comes from.

Then I started to wonder… is he talking about this guy?
2016 TSR #266 - Kyle Barraclough
When I got home, I looked him up on baseball-reference.com, and they list the pronunciation of Barraclough as \ bear-claw \. Okey dokes.

For those not familiar with Barraclough, he’s a reliever who’s 6-2, 2.90 this year with 27 walks and 66 K’s in 40.1 innings pitched.

I’m still rolling out the all-star cards, here’s Manny Machado… who I just remembered was featured in Friday’s post, so I hope I’m not achieving a level of Machado saturation.
2016 TSR #354 - Manny Machado All-Star

Next up is a “First Pitch” card… I’ve developed something of a backlog of “Celebrity First Pitch” cards, so I think you can expect one in every pack for the near future.

Today’s first pitch card features Elena Delle Donne of the WNBA’s Chicago Sky.
2016 TSR CFP-4 Elena Delle Donne
(Don’t tell the Cubs fans that she threw out the first pitch at a White Sox game last September).

…But she’s got a dog named “Wrigley”, so maybe the Chisox just asked first.

As is the rule for any athletes who show up on one of my First Pitch customs, they also get a custom showing them in their “day job”. Because I only have the one basketball template, Delle Donne gets a custom in the style of 1957-58 Topps Basketball.
2016 TSRchives 57BK-1 Elena Delle Donne
Delle Donne is the reigning WNBA MVP and was recently named the WNBA Eastern Division player of the week for the 11th time in her 4 year career.

Next up is a custom of Jumbo Diaz… Just because I felt that Jumbo Diaz should have a custom.
2016 TSR #302 - Jumbo Diaz

Wrapping up, we’ve got Mets prospect Dominic Smith, who played in the Futures Game two weeks ago. Smith is currently playing for the AA Binghamton Mets, where he already has 70 RBI.
2016 TSR #341 - Dominic Smith Futures Game
Last year, Smith was the Florida State League MVP, and before this season he was ranked by Baseball America as the 79th best prospect in all of baseball.

…and, of course, he was named to the USA team in the 2016 Futures Game.

So that’s it until next Sunday… in the meantime I’ll be thinking about how I can do that rack pack.

One thought on “2016 TSR: Naaaaah, We’re Outta Bear Claws!

Leave a Reply

