Hello, My Name Is Joe, I’ll Be Your Jinx For Tonight…

I had somewhere to run to Wednesday night, and just before I got in my car I checked my phone and saw a notification that the Orioles’ Dylan Bundy was perfect against the Rockies through five innings.
2014 Bowman Top 100 Prospects Dylan Bundy
“Hot damn,” I thought, “I’ll have to listen to the game in the car!”

So I’m in my car trying to figure out which XM channel the Orioles game was on. By the time I found the game, the Orioles radio announcers were talking about how Bundy had walked former Oriole Mark Reynolds to lose the perfect game.

2014 TSR #179 Mark Reynolds

I didn’t have any readily-available scans of Mark Reynolds cards, so you’ll have to settle for a 2014 TSR custom card.

At that point, I should’ve realized what I was doing to Bundy’s chances and gotten out of there like Shaggy and Scooby after seeing a ghost. But no, I said “He’s still got the no-no!” and I kept on listening.

So naturally, on what was the second or third pitch I heard, Nick Hundley… another former Oriole…
2014 Topps Update Nick Hundley
…hits it out of the park. Goodbye no-hitter, goodbye shutout. Two batters later, Bundy gave up David Dahl’s first MLB homer, and that was it for Bundy. The Orioles ended up losing 3-1 and Bundy took the loss.

I’m sorry Dylan.
2012 Topps Heritage Minor League Dylan Bundy

I have this incredible track record of jinxing perfection as soon as I become aware of it. I’ve been bowling in leagues for over 20 years, and I couldn’t tell you how many times I heard someone say something along the lines of “Hey, check out Frank’s score” and no sooner do I look up to see that Frank’s line on the scoring computer looks like this:
FRANK  | X | X | X | X | X | X | X | X | X |
…when Frank throws a 7-10 split. It’s the Shlabotnik curse. I become aware of perfection, it ceases to be perfect.

2013 Bowman Draft Picks Prospects Dylan Bundy

Last year I was at a minor league baseball game, and both pitchers were pitching really well, only the visiting pitcher had a slightly rocky start before getting into a groove. Even though I was keeping score, I only knew I was watching a pitcher’s duel with a lot of K’s, I wasn’t aware of what was going on until I hear the guy behind me say “He has a no-hitter going”. I mentally went “Whuuuh?”, looked at the scoreboard, looked at my scorebook, sure enough… no hits and working through the 5th inning. Two batters later, a ground ball between the shortstop and third baseman, no more no hitter.

2013 Topps Gypsy Queen Dylan Bundy

So this is your opportunity to tell me about your similar stories, or perhaps to gloat about how you’re not an instant curse like I am.

How far into a no-hitter have you ever seen a pitcher get?

Full disclosure: I did eventually see someone bowl a 300 game.

6 thoughts on “Hello, My Name Is Joe, I’ll Be Your Jinx For Tonight…

  1. I kind of feel the same way. If I am listening to a close basketball game, the team I want to win has a lead, but if I stop to watch, they suddenly lose the ability to score and the lead. Sometimes the blown lead will be more than 20 points, too!

  2. No hitter stories:

    I was at Shea to see Bob Moose no hit the Mets in September of 1969. It was the last loss the Mets would suffer at home that year. I won’t dwell on how that whole season ended any further. It led to my eventually starting a Bob Moose collection.

    I had tickets to an Astros-Braves game in April of 1979. I had cousins in town from New Jersey and gave them the tickets so they could experience the Astrodome. Ken Forsch no hit the Braves that night. :-(

  3. Yu Darvish must hate me. Started watching two of his no-hitters going late into the game… only to be blown. If I remember correctly… both were with 2 outs in the ninth.

  4. Last Wednesday afternoon I was sitting in the Seattle airport in between flights and noticed Bundy had a perfect game going. Since I was not at home in Maryland (and therefore in the Orioles blackout area) I was kind of happy that I would actually be able to watch the game on MLB.TV on my iPad. Of course, I tuned in just in time to see the walk and the home run. So we both can blame each other for screwing up Bundy’s game…

    I got to see Wilson Alvarez no-hit the Orioles back at Memorial Stadium in 1991 and I saw Pascal Perez throw a rain shortened 5 inning no-hitters against the Phillies at the Vet back in 1988 (which counts as a complete game for Perez but not an official no-hitter).

    My father and I had planned on going to a Giants-Phillies game on a Sunday afternoon back in 2003 but decided against it at the last minute. I was running errands in Delaware listening to the game on the radio and heard Kevin Millwood throw a no-hitter.

Leave a Reply

