My Vintage Yogi Berra Collection (Population: 1…. and last month it was zero)

During the COMC Spring Cleaning promo, I was scarfing up all sorts of cheap cards but I realized I was spending too much time and credit on those cheapies… Every now and then I need to remind myself that part of my original intent with selling on COMC was to turn my quantity into quality, so I started looking around to see if there are any bargains to be had on some of my pricier needs… Most significantly, my Mets needs.

I didn’t think I was going to find a Tom Seaver rookie that fit in my budget, and I was right about that…. but I did resolve a long-time need.  For $10 I got this terrific 1965 Yogi Berra.

1965 Topps Yogi Berra
This instantly became my only Yogi which came out when he was still technically a player.  Yogi was a player/coach with the Yankees in 1963, and for 1964 he retired as a player and got promoted to manager.  Yogi lead the team to the World Series, but lost in 7 to the Cardinals… and got fired for his efforts (freakin’ Yankees).  For 1965, he became a coach with the Mets and played in 4 games, which is what this card reflects. Talk about your short-term Mets!  His career statistics show 2,116 games over 18 years with the Yankees, and 4 games in 1965 with the Mets.

Getting back to the card itself, it’s in surprisingly nice shape… Perhaps one of the nicest 1965’s I have, if you look only at the front of the card.  The reason I got this card for the price that I did was because someone wrote on the back in black magic marker. Do I care? Awwww, hell no! Especially since Yogi’s extensive career stats left no room for one of those fantastic 1965 cartoons.

Before this card, my oldest Yogi Berra card was the 1973 card which showed him as the manager of the Mets.

Needless to say, I’m very excited to add this 1965 card to my collection.

8 thoughts on “My Vintage Yogi Berra Collection (Population: 1…. and last month it was zero)

  1. Great old card to start a vintage Yogi PC with. Yes it is very odd and weird to see/think of Yogi as a Met, or anything other than a Yankee for that matter.

Leave a Reply

