Weigh-In #54: Profound Shame And Five 1970 Topps Commons

It’s been 8 months since I’ve done one of these posts, so I should explain what this is about.  (The 1970 Topps Commons are here to give the post some visual appeal; they have nothing at all to do with the text.)

Much like weight-loss programs will have you weigh-in on a regular basis to keep track of your progress, I find that posting updates on the organizing and streamlining of my collection helps me in a number of ways. It gives me an opportunity to look at the big picture, and helps with both motivation (if I do well) and guilt (if I don’t).

1970 Topps New York Yankees Team

I used to be good about posting these on a regular basis, although I went from weekly (nobody cared) to monthly (still too often) and by 2014 I was posting quarterly, which worked well. In 2015 I started off with a February post (slightly more than quarterly) and then I didn’t post another weigh-in until that September. I got back on a quarterly basis… for one more post, and then I fell off the wagon again. I’ve frankly postponed this post for a couple of months just because I’m embarrassed at how little progress I’ve made.


1970 Topps Ike Brown
Ike Brown played every position but pitcher, catcher and center field during his 6-year career with the Tigers.


And that’s the crux of the whole thing… My objective is to streamline my collection, but it keeps growing. Some of it is from unexpected opportunity, like the 50 cheap wax packs I bought a month ago, but much of it is just lack of focus.

So, in other words, I need to be better about posting these.  I need more shame.


1970 Topps Syd O'Brien
Syd O’Brien had been traded to the White Sox the previous December, and played multiple infield positions for four different teams over four years.


Anyway, on to the data.  “In the house” means a card is located within Shlabotnik World Headquarters;  “In the collection” means that a card has been logged in my database and resides within an appropriate binder or box.  “In the collection” excludes doubles and cards that I haven’t done anything with.

The numbers here reflect changes since January 5th, 2016.

Net change in the collection since 1/5/2016: +1,626 (1,752 added, 126 purged)

Net change to the # of cards in the house since 1/5/2016: +1,315 (1,357 in, 42 out)

The best that can be said about the above numbers is that the collection has grown faster than the number of cards in the house… meaning that I’ve been better about getting older acquisitions into my database.


1970 Topps Mike Wegener
Mike Wegener was drafted from the Phillies in the 1968 N.L. expansion draft, and he went 8-20 over his two years with the Expos.  On July 18th, 1970 he gave up Willie Mays’ 3000th hit.


In the below figures, “to date” means since I started tracking this stuff on 10/16/2011.

Total # of cards purged from the collection, to date: 11,826

Net change to the collection, to date: -161
This is the worst this number’s been since 2012, is a source of great shame, and will change by the next weigh-in (early January).

Total # of cards which have left the house, to date: 44,869

Net change to the number of cards in the house, to date: -23,907

Number of individual cards tracked in my Access database: 53,910 (an increase of 2,248)

Number of cards that make up the sets flagged as completed in my Access database: 16,890

…which means I’ve got at least 70,800 cards in my collection


1970 Topps Ken Rudolph
Unlike the other position players in this post, Ken Rudolph played just 3 games at a position other than what his card lists; he played 3 games in left field during his 1969 rookie season.  He was a backup catcher for the Cubs and Cardinals, did two stints with the Giants and played 11 games for the Orioles.


Last-minute ShlabotNote:

Good news for Orioles fans!  Belated news, but still good news!

In researching something card-related but not blog-related, I stumbled across a Beckett article from July 1st that indicates that Orioles catcher Matt Wieters has finally signed with Topps. For those who weren’t aware, Wieters has never been on a pack-issued Topps card, and his cardboard history is relatively spotty.  The only 2016 card I could find is a Panini Immaculate relic card.

With Wieters, Ichiro and Andrew Miller all in the fold, I don’t know of any players who can’t appear on a Topps card in 2017… At least nobody major.

…And now I can stop making faux Heritage cards for Wieters (not that I’ve done one since 2015, anyway)
2014 TSR Schmeritage Matt Wieters

2 thoughts on “Weigh-In #54: Profound Shame And Five 1970 Topps Commons

  1. It’s amazing how similar we are when it comes to organizing. I two have two different numbers just like you, total cards and then the smaller subset of those that I’ve scanned and cataloged in Zistle. That smaller, organized number is north of 42,000 now. I don’t actually know, but I shudder to think what the larger one might be…

Leave a Reply

