Japanese Pack Animal: 2004 BBM 1st Version

I’ve had a time the last couple of weeks… Not really bad, but not always doing what I wanted to do.  I decided I was going to reward myself by opening one of my Japanese packs I keep in reserve for semi-special occasions.

As you may have guessed by the subject line, this pack is from 2004 BBM 1st Version. Here’s the wrapper, all shiny and Japanese.
2004-bbm-1st-version-wrapper-front

…And here’s the back of the wrapper, full of all kinds of information I don’t understand.  Insert odds?
2004-bbm-1st-version-wrapper-back
…Dunno.

As always with these packs, I consider a “hit” to be a card of someone I know, or a card with a cool photo.

So let’s get started!  First card…
2004-bbm-1st-version-osamu-hamanaka
I don’t know Osamu Hamanaka, but I like this card.  We’re off to a promising start.

Here’s the back, taunting me (as usual) by asking “Did you know?” and elaborating in Japanese.
2004-bbm-1st-version-osamu-hamanaka-back

Next up, Hiroshi Narahara.
2004-bbm-1st-version-hiroshi-narakara
Another pretty nice card.  Hate the Fighter’s uniforms, though.

Hiroyuki Watanabe.  There’s a Japanese actor with the same name, but he’s much older.
2004-bbm-1st-version-hiroyuki-watanabe

Hiroyuki Ohshima.  This is a pack for guys whose name starts with “Hiro”.
2004-bbm-1st-version-hiroyuki-ohshima

This next card is an insert where the player is glossy and everything else is matte.  Not a bad effect.
2004-bbm-1st-version-hiroshi-kisanuki-asian-championship
Stupid me, I saw “Asian Championship”, said “I wonder what’s up with that?”, flipped the card over and…
2004-bbm-1st-version-hiroshi-kisanuki-asian-championship-back
…I forgot which set I was looking at.  I can’t read it, other than more “Did you know?”

Satoshi Nakajima played in 29 different seasons in NPB… Twenty-Nine!
2004-bbm-1st-version-satoshi-nakajima
Granted, the last 7-8 years of his career he was a player/coach who only appeared in a handful of games each year.

Here’s a hit by my definition.
2004-bbm-1st-version-hisanori-takahashi
Hisanori Takahashi was a decent pitcher for the Mets in 2010, and also played for the Angels, Pirates and Cubs, as well as in the Rockies organization, before going back to Japan.  Here’s his 2010 Topps Chrome card:
2010 Topps Chrome Hisanori Takahashi

Takashi Toritani… The name is familiar, but it took me a while to figure out why.
2004-bbm-1st-version-takashi-toritani
Back between the 2014 and 2015 seasons, Toritani looked into coming over to the Majors, and the Mets were one of the teams which expressed interest.  He decided not to come over to America, and remains active with the Hanshin Tigers.

And that’s the pack!  Not bad, certainly fun to open.

You know what occurred to me after I opened the pack?  The cards have “glowy” top right and bottom left corners, and not much background.  Where have we seen something like that before?  Maybe if we change the “glowy” effect to something else, like a dust cloud…?

2016 Topps Opening Day Michael Conforto

I have to say, I like BBM’s design much better, even if the font BBM used is kind of hard to read.

6 thoughts on “Japanese Pack Animal: 2004 BBM 1st Version

  1. The “Asian Championship” refers to the 2003 Asian games which were a qualifier for the 2004 Athens Olympics. Japan put a dream team together and kicked everyone’s butt. BBM did a box set for the team that winter and then an insert set in the 2004 1st Version set.

    Satoshi Nakajima was the last active Hankyu Brave – he retired at the end of last season (the Hankyu Braves are now the Orix Buffaloes – Hankyu sold the team to Orix after the 1988 season). While he did only appear in a handful of games with the Fighters top team over the last 8 or 9 seasons (as you said), he was actually playing with Nippon-Ham’s farm team.

Leave a Reply

