Oversized Load, Part 4: Mets from 1985 – 1987 Donruss All-Stars

So a funny thing happened at the show I was at this past weekend…

I had an opportunity to buy a decent-sized stack of unopened packs of 1986 Donruss All-Stars, an oversized oddball from a series of sets I’ve always enjoyed because I’m one of those strange people who likes oversized cards.

I couldn’t remember where I stood with the set, but I remembered that a couple of years ago, I’d written a series of posts on oversized Mets cards. Thinking that I may have mentioned whether or not I had a complete set, I used my phone to access my own blog, but I couldn’t find the post that featured the 1986 set.

After a moment of deliberation, I threw caution to the wind and bought the packs anyway.

When I got home I tried to figure out where that post was, and it took me a while but I found it.

…IN THE DRAFTS FOLDER.

Siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigggggggggghhhhhh….

So, as long as I was aware of the draft, I figured I may as well finish and update the post.

First up is a 1985 Action All-Star of Dwight Gooden.  Like the other cards in these series, the card is 5″ tall and 3.5″ wide — twice as big as a standard-sized card.  As with the two prior Action All-Star sets, the set is complete at 60 cards, and packs came with 3 pieces of a Lou Gehrig puzzle… I think it’s the same puzzle that came with regular Donruss packs.

1985 Donruss Action All-Stars Dwight Gooden

The design shares a black border with the regular Donruss set, but not much else.  The back is a standard 1980’s Donruss back, and not worth reproducing.

For 1986, the set became just “All-Stars”… “Action” apparently was no longer part of the sales pitch.  The design is a pretty similar to 1986 Donruss.  There’s only one Met in the base set, Mr. Ron Darling.

1986 Donruss Action All-Stars Ron Darling

The back varied somewhat from Standard Donruss, but I didn’t scan it and I’m not going to go back and scan it.

Packs came with 3 All-Star cards, 3 Hank Aaron puzzle pieces and one of 18 Pop-Up cards (reflecting the 9 starters from the prior year’s All-Star Game).  These are meant to fold so that the roof of the Hubert H. Humphrey Dome (site of the 1985 All-Star Game) is behind the player’s head.

1986 Donruss Pop-Up Darryl Strawberry

The final oversized Donruss set came out in 1987.  It was pretty much the same deal as the 1986 set with the design echoing the regular Donruss set without actually duplicating it.

1987 Donruss All-Star Sid Fernandez

I don’t have a scan of the 1987 pop-ups because I don’t have any, but they’re largely similar to the 1986 version;  the main differences being that the background features the Astrodome and the player’s name, team and position listed on the front.

As for the packs I bought, I found out when I got home that I needed only 3 base cards and one pop-up.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get that out of these packs.

If you’re interested in the three-year-old posts about the other oversized sets, you can link to them here:

Part 1:  1980 & 1981 Topps “Super

Part 2:  1983 & 1984 Donruss Action All-Stars

Part 3:  1984 Donruss Champions

One thought on “Oversized Load, Part 4: Mets from 1985 – 1987 Donruss All-Stars

Leave a Reply

