After Three Years… A Complete 1972 Mets “Master Team Set”

Three years ago, I thought I’d completed my team set from 1972 Topps… and by most people’s standards, I *had* completed a team set.  I had all of the regular cards, the “In Action” cards, the Boyhood Photos, the Rookie cards, the Leader cards… 47 cards in all. Yep, it’s a very large team set.

Then I realized that there was also “Puzzle D” on the back of some of the “In Action” cards… Puzzle D features Tom Seaver, so even though the front of the cards featured non-Mets, the backs were a different story.

At the time I’d made this realization, I had a couple of the cards I needed to complete the puzzle. It took me a while to find ones in the price range I’d had in mind, given that these are High #’s, and given that I’m cheap. I suspect that there might also be something of a premium based on the Seaver puzzle.

This past weekend I finally found the last two cards at a price I liked.

I found the Jim Kaat In Action for $3.
1972-topps-jim-kaat-in-action
That “402 FT” marker behind him looks familiar, but I’m shaky on vintage A.L. ballparks. Milwaukee?

Here’s the back of the Kaat IA:
1972-topps-jim-kaat-in-action-back

I also found the Bobby Murcer In Action for $3.50
1972-topps-bobby-murcer-in-action
I spent a bit of time trying to figure out who the catcher is. In 1971, when this photo was probably taken, there were three American League teams which had red as their primary color: The Senators, Indians and White Sox. If you look closely at the piping on the sleeve and the pants, it looks like the narrow red-white-red piping of the ChiSox. Unfortunately, there were five games where Bobby Murcer scored against the White Sox in 1971, but we can at least narrow the potential catchers down to Ed Herrmann, Tom Egan and Chuck Brinkman. I’m thinking Tom Egan, but that’s largely just a guess… Does anybody have any input?

And here’s the back of the Murcer:
1972-topps-bobby-murcer-in-action-back

And because I know you’re all dying to know what the completed puzzle looks like…
1972-topps-puzzle-d-tom-seaver
Not a terrific photo of Tom Terrific, I have to say.

And for reference purposes, here are the 6 corresponding card fronts…
1972-topps-puzzle-d-fronts
…and the “checklist” for Puzzle D:
692 – Curt Blefary IA
694 – Allan Gallagher IA
696 – Rod Carew IA
700 – Bobby Murcer IA
706 – Pat Corrales IA
710 – Jim Kaat IA

13 thoughts on “After Three Years… A Complete 1972 Mets “Master Team Set”

  1. Congrats. On the competition. The other guy who had a puzzle in the 72 set was Yaz. I’ve completed the 72 set. But then went back and got a second Bosox set complete with the Yaz puzzle. Yaz alsobeen had a puzzle back set in the 68 and 69 set.

    • SEAVER WAS TALKING WITH ANOTHER PHOTOGRAPHER, RAY BOETEL, WHEN THE TOPPS PHOTOGRAPHER WAS SHOOTING AND IN THEIR USUAL ‘ INFINITE WISDOM ‘ PUBLISHED THIS MEDIOCRE IMAGE RATHER THAN A MUCH BETTER EXAMPLE, HOWEVER WHAT ELSE IS NEW WITH TOPPS DOWN THROUGH THE YEARS … SIGH.

  2. THE CATCHER IN QUESTION ON THE MURCER ‘ IN ACTION ‘ IS TOM EGAN THE ONLY ONE WITH THOSE FULL SIDEBURNS AS YOU WILL FIND IF YOU CHECK ALL PHOTOS OF HIM.

Leave a Reply

