Adventures In Dimeboxing, Part 1

At the card show I went to recently, I spent a fair amount of time going through dime boxes… Maybe too much time, but I suppose it’s all part of the process of refining my goals each time I go to a show.

While I didn’t find those dime boxes full of Kellogg’s, Mother’s Cookies and Hostess cards like some other people seem to, I did find plenty of fun stuff. This will be the first of at least two or three “Dimeboxing” posts.

First off, a couple of die-cuts… This first card is an insert from 2014 Bowman Chrome, and while the die-cut isn’t terribly appealing and the card seems to be worth about a dime, it features a Mets prospect and his brother… and how can I resist that combination?
2014-bowman-chrome-dual-ing-die-cuts-gavin-and-garin-cecchini
Gavin Cecchini is a shortstop who played a handful of games for the Mets this September. He was the 12th overall draft pick in 2012 and Baseball America has included him among the Mets top 10 prospects every season since then.

His older brother Garin is a third baseman who had cups of coffee in 2014 and 2015 and has had a similar track record of being among the Red Sox top prospects. Last winter Garin was sold to the Brewers and he spent 2016 playing for AAA Colorado Springs.

A slightly older die-cut comes courtesy of Pacific… This oddball Rickey Henderson is from the 2000 Pacific Crown Royale set.
2000-pacific-crown-royale-rickey-henderson
People talk about missing Upper Deck, but I miss Pacific. They went a little over the top with foil, but they had some nice sets and their bilingual set taught me a few baseball terms in Spanish.

I found a small number of 2006 Rittenhouse WNBA cards in one dimebox. I don’t follow the WNBA, I can probably name only a handful of players from the entire league history (Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi… um…), but I so rarely run across any WNBA cards that I’m always tempted to pick up one or two on the occasions that I do.

So I thumbed through this stack of 30 or 40 cards and I didn’t recognize any names and wasn’t grabbed by any of the action shots and I don’t have any sort of connection to any of the teams… So I picked a couple of cards for …um… other reasons.

Kristen Mann was the 11th overall draft pick in the 2005 draft
2006-rittenhouse-wnba-kristen-mann
She played in the WNBA from 2005 to 2010, and it appears that she’s been playing in European leagues since then.

Stacey Dales was a two-time All-American for Oklahoma, set numerous school records and had her number retired by the University, was drafted 3rd overall by the Washington Mystics and played for Canada in the 2000 Olympics.
2006-rittenhouse-wnba-stacey-dales
It wasn’t until I got home and started poking around online that I found out that Stacey Dales is currently a studio host and reporter for the NFL Network. I enjoy watching my Steelers, but I’m not big enough into football to watch the NFL Network. Sorry, Stacey.

For those who might be interested, here’s the back of the Stacey Dales card.
2006-rittenhouse-wnba-stacey-dales-back

OK, getting back to baseball… I love picking up cheap Pro Debut cards, especially for guys who have already made it.

Here’s Brian Dozier shown with the New Britain Rock Cats, a team which moved to Hartford for the 2016 season but never played a game there due to ongoing and still unresolved ballpark issues. It’s too involved to get into here, Google it if you don’t know already.  If you listen closely, you can hear the distant sound of New Britain snickering (they got an independent Atlantic League team before their ballpark got cold)
2012-topps-pro-debut-brian-dozier
The Twins are badly in need of a talent influx, and with a new GM who has no loyalties to any players, could Dozier be shipped off for a bunch of prospects? Stay tuned.

I also got another impressive young infielder, Francisco Lindor of the World Series-bound Cleveland Indians. I saw Lindor in the minors a couple of years ago and was impressed with him at the time, so he’s become someone I make a small effort to collect.
2013-topps-pro-debut-francisco-lindor
Since I looked it up, I’ll share it with you… The Lake County Captains are based in what I presume is a suburb of Cleveland. Lake Erie is the lake in “Lake County”.

The World Baseball Classic is rolling around next March… Many of you don’t care, and as for me… well, it’s competitive baseball in March.

The last time around, Anthony Rizzo was an up-and-comer who had played 136 games over two seasons with the Padres and Cubs.
2013-topps-world-baseball-classic-anthony-rizzo
…Now, of course, he’s a three-time All-Star and getting ready to play in the World Series.

Carlos Beltran was hoping he’d get to the World Series with the Rangers. I wonder why they can never seal the deal despite talented teams…
2013-topps-world-baseball-classic-carlos-beltran
Beltran’s a free agent and seems likely to end up as someone’s DH.

I was pleased to find that the dime boxes I went through had some of this year’s Stadium Club cards.
2016-stadium-club-kevin-plawecki
No stars, of course, but great for filling out team and player collections.

I ran across this 1993 Fleer card for my Darren Daulton PC.
1993-fleer-nl-all-stars-darren-daulton
This is a nice-looking card, but unfortunately it doesn’t appear that there are any other players from this insert set who fit into my collection (No Cal Ripken?)

And to wrap up, I had to get this “Short Term Stop” involving Jim Thome of the Los Angeles Dodgers.
2010-heritage-jim-thome
Thome was acquired from the White Sox on August 31st, 2009 and would play 17 regular season games and 5 postseason games for the Bums before going to the Twins as a free agent.

5 thoughts on “Adventures In Dimeboxing, Part 1

  1. Love those Pro Debut cards, great scores both for a dime each! Our office space in Hartford is directly across the street from that new ballpark (which actually looks great at least from our vantage point), what a mess that whole situation has become. Typical for Connecticut unfortunately…

Leave a Reply

