2017 WBC:  Finally! 1986 Topps! And Voting Begins!

I’ve repeated this so many times that some of you can probably recite this in your sleep: “The World Baseball Classic is rolling around again next March, and I’ve been thinking that it would be fun to devote a small set of customs to it, and to have an online vote to decide which design to use for the custom set.”

I had a nomination of the 1986 Topps set from reader KO Rob, but I was having trouble finding the correct font (Novel Gothic). I finally got tired of making excuses, so I cobbled together the word “JAPAN” from scans of 1986 Topps cards;  I  used the “JA” from “Blue Jays”, “P” from “Padres” and “AN” from “Giants” (and, of course, adjusted the widths and the colors).

So here we go:
2017-wbc-prototype-6-1986-topps-ichiro
Nice suggestion, KO Rob!  I like the way this looks, although I do wonder what I’m going to do for longer country names like the Dominican Republic or Australia.  To be fair, this same concern applies to several of these customs.

I’ve dragged this process out long enough, let’s start voting!

Here’s a recap of the candidates…

#1 – BASED ON 1966 TOPPS HOCKEY & FOOTBALL
2017-world-baseball-classic-prototype-1966-topps-hockey-ike-davis

#2 – BASED ON 1980 TOPPS BASEBALL
2017-wbc-prototype-7-jason-marquis

#3 – BASED ON 1976 HOSTESS BASEBALL
2017-wbc-prototype-3-miguel-cabrera

#4 – BASED ON 1976 WONDER BREAD FOOTBALL
2017-wbc-prototype-4-oliver-perez

#5 – BASED ON 1960-62 BAZOOKA BASEBALL
2012-13 Hot Stove #17 - Jose Mijares

#6 – BASED ON 1986 TOPPS BASEBALL
2017-wbc-prototype-6-1986-topps-ichiro

So there are your candidates, a much more appealing bunch than what we in the United States have on Tuesday, but that’s the way it goes.

Voting goes for a week, only because the polling software doesn’t allow me to go any further than that.

Thanks for taking part in this grand experiment!

8 thoughts on “2017 WBC:  Finally! 1986 Topps! And Voting Begins!

  1. I voted Wonder Bread Football.

    So far no votes for the ’86 Topps style because nobody is mean enough to try and make your life as hard as possible.

  2. I went with the 1980 design. For real long team names you could possibly extend the banner.

    Your 86 Topps is excellent & spot on, but I hated that border design. Especially after the classic 1985 Topps border.

Leave a Reply

