Pack Animal: 2000 Topps Gallery

This pack came from a purchase of about 50 packs, all discounted and mostly from 10-15 years ago.  I didn’t buy any Topps Gallery cards back then, because the cost-to-fun ratio wasn’t there for me.
2000-topps-gallery-wrapper
The tag line for Topps Gallery was “The Art Of Collecting”, and when I saw these packs of 2000 Gallery, I thought “Woo-hoo! Cards made from paintings!”

Unfortunately, I’d forgotten that the first year of Gallery didn’t use paintings for the base set, the cards featured photos. Nicely printed and glossy, but still photos. Oh, well. I would’ve bought these packs anyway.

If you’ve never seen one of these before, the card stock isn’t particularly thick, but the glossy photo is further set apart from the white border by the border being textured and with gold foil stamping for the name and team.  The photo scans well, the gold stamping… not so much.  The letters look almost ghostly in the scans.
2000-topps-gallery-craig-biggio

Here’s the back of the Biggio.  Biggio is from near where I grew up on Long Island, and yet I don’t collect him.  Don’t ask me, I don’t understand it either.
2000-topps-gallery-craig-biggio-back

I guess Carlos Delgado is doing some sort of post-homer celebration, but it looks more like he’s throwing his bat at something that scared him.
2000-topps-gallery-carlos-delgado
EEEEK!

Jason Kendall and Mark Grudzielanek tangle at 2nd base.
2000-topps-gallery-jason-kendall
A great picture and one i’ll keep even though it doesn’t really fit into any of my numerous collections.

Kevin Brown… Not a terribly interesting card that’s supposed to be “The Art Of Collecting”.  The card is saved by pronounced Dodger blue and grass green.
2000-topps-gallery-kevin-brown

Larry Bigbie! One of my favorite Orioles from the early 21st century. He came up to the bigs with several other players, including Brian Roberts and Jay Gibbons.
2000-topps-gallery-larrry-bigbie-students-of-the-game
Bigbie was the 21st overall pick in the 1999 draft, but never quite lived up to the first round expectations. He peaked in 2004 when he batted .280 with 15 homers, 76 runs, 68 RBI and 23 doubles. He tailed off in 2005 and before the July deadline he was traded to the Rockies for Eric “Captain America” Byrnes… A deal which didn’t work out for either team.

Wrapping things up with a Yankee.  Booo!
2000-topps-gallery-orlando-hernandez
Under a previous collecting mindset, I would’ve held on to this card given that El Duque pitched for the Mets at the end of his career and I was hanging on to anybody who’d played for the Mets, regardless of which team he is pictured with on the card.  Now, I realize I have way too many cards and can’t be hanging on to cards just because the player was one I’d cheered on at one point.

Even though wasn’t quite what I expected, but it was still a fun pack to open… and, like I said,  it was relatively cheap, so it’s all good.

One thought on “Pack Animal: 2000 Topps Gallery

Leave a Reply

