2016/17 Hot Stove – A Box Of Sugar Papi Cereal, And…

There was a clearance sale on Sugar Papi cereal down at the Virt-U-L-Mart.  I wonder why they would be clearing out their stock of a David Ortiz-themed cereal?
sugar-papi-cereal
Back in September, during the Red Sox’ last visit to Baltimore, the Orioles presented Ortiz with a charitable donation of $10,000 and the Camden Yards dugout phone that Ortiz had smashed with a bat in 2013.  Ortiz apparently didn’t appreciate the phone, although nothing was said at the time.  I will admit that the gifts didn’t compare favorably to the gifts given by the O’s to Derek Jeter and Mariano Rivera, but I also got the impression that it was something of a pushback against having to figure out the appropriate gift for rival players, none of whom are suffering from any kind of financial hardship.  Maybe the next HOF to retire can keep their plans to themselves at least until his team’s last homestand.

I guess we can be thankful that baseball players have only one farewell tour, unlike certain rock bands…

OK, enough grumbling from me.  Let’s see who we’ve pulled out of our cereal box.

2016-17-tsr-hot-stove-3-josh-reddick
Josh Reddick turned a career-best .281 average and a not-career-best 53 runs and 37 RBI into a four-year, $52M deal with the Astros. Of course, Reddick is also a former Gold Glove winner and brings more to the table than the baseline stats would indicate.

One thing I hadn’t thought of when I chose the 1970 Kellogg’s design for the 2016/17 TSR Hot Stove set is that the baseball icon really gets in the way.  I like the way it looks when I’m done, but I have to be judicious when I select a photo to use and it can be a mild pain in the butt… This is all a long-way-’round way of saying that I probably wouldn’t have used this Reddick photo if I were paying tribute to a different Kellogg’s set, but I’m happy with the results.

That being said, be prepared for a lot of batting poses this winter.

 

5 thoughts on “2016/17 Hot Stove – A Box Of Sugar Papi Cereal, And…

  1. IF ANY CEREAL COMPANY ISSUED THIS GREAT LOOKING BOX, EXACTLY AS IT APPEARS HERE, THEY WOULD FLY OFF SHELVES ALL OVER THE COUNTRY … YET ANOTHER EXCELLENT PRODUCTION … WELL DONE.

Leave a Reply

