My Vintage Willie Mays Collection (Population 5)

Yardwork, a dead kitchen appliance and other things are taking up a bunch of my time, so I’m going to keep things short today, sharing all five of my vintage (1973 and earlier) Willie Mays cards, in reverse chronological order.

1973 Topps Willie Mays
The black armband was for Mets manager Gil Hodges, who died of a heart attack in early April, 1972.

1973 All Time HR Leaders_0001
Don’t knock it, the price was right.

1972 Topps Willie Mays IA
Other than this card, the 1956 card and a couple of cards that feature “The Catch” from the 1954 World Series, are there any other vintage Mays cards which feature game action?

1972 Topps Willie Mays

1968 Topps Game Willie Mays
This one is a fairly-recent acquisition, I bought it during my quest for the 1968 Topps Game insert set. This is going to stay my oldest Willie Mays card until I manage to track down a 1964 Topps Giant in my budget (Dang short prints!)

3 thoughts on “My Vintage Willie Mays Collection (Population 5)

  1. I sold my meager card collection and bought one card – 1956 Willie Mays!!! Favorite player and best year for baseball cards because of the action shot.

Leave a Reply

