Clickbait: These Insane Sports Facts Will Leave You Speechless!

Keep in mind that after you’ve nodded off, you’re technically speechless.

The 1962 Mets had two pitchers named Bob Miller – one righty and one lefty…
1962-bob-miller-and-bob-miller
Both Bob Millers ended their career with the Mets; Lefty Robert G. Miller (card on the right) after 1962, and Righty Robert L. Miller (card on the left) in a second stint with the Mets after 1974.
1974 Topps Bob Miller
In all, there have been four Bob Millers to play in the Majors.

As long as I’m posting this 1974 Bob Miller card, and as my original post about it was 4 years ago when I had three readers (as opposed to the 15 or 16 I have today), this Bob Miller card is interesting because you can tell from the guys behind him that he was a Pirate when the photo was taken, but his collar is airbrushed red and black.  Well, in between the Pirates and Mets, Bob pitched for the Padres and Tigers… so I’m thinking they at least started to airbrush him into a Tigers uniform, and then realized they had to make him a Met instead.


The 2000 Mets had two pitchers named Bobby Jones – one righty and one lefty…

2001-topps-bobby-jones-and-bobby-jones
In all, there have been four Bob/Bobby Jones to play in the Majors.


Sparky Anderson’s craggy face and white hair made him seem ancient to me when I was a kid in the 1970’s…
1978-topps-sparky-anderson
…But the truth is that he was no more than 43 years old when this photo was taken!  (And current-day, 51-year-old me says “Well, shoot, he doesn’t look THAT old…”)


The New York Islanders currently play in Brooklyn, which is geographically on the western end of Long Island. The Islanders’ logo features a “map” of Long Island which reflects what people think of as “Long Island”: the two counties (Nassau & Suffolk) east of the New York City line. The upshot of all this is that when the Islanders moved to Brooklyn, they essentially moved out of their own logo!

Just for fun — and because I was procrastinating something I really should’ve been doing instead – I created a version of their logo which has been “extended” to include their new home.
brooklyn-islanders-map
I’ll wrap up with another “insane fact” about the logo… The top of the “I” in “ISLANDERS” points to the location of its original home, the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Uniondale, NY.

14 thoughts on “Clickbait: These Insane Sports Facts Will Leave You Speechless!

    • I was mainly being modest/facetious, but I honestly don’t have a decent grasp on how many readers there are. I get enough hits on certain older posts, plus people finding my customs through search engines, that it’s hard to tell. Not enough to “monetize” the blog, I do know that.

  1. Sparky always said about graying early – as other people age, others will say that guy looks alot older, but old Sparky always stays the same.

  2. I can’t believe I never knew (or had forgotten if I did) that the top of the ‘I’ in the Islanders logo held that significance!

  3. Your clickbait totally lured me in – am I going to get a virus or something now? Staying on the theme of you Bob Millers and Bobby Joneses, the Cubs have had three Bob Smiths in their history. However, none of them were ever on the team at the same time.

  4. Great post. It’s hard to believe that Sparky was only 43 in that photo. I always thought he was much, much older. Guess the stress of being one of the greatest managers of his era took a toll. And that NY Islander fact is awesome. Can’t believe I never heard it before. I look forward to sharing it with my fellow hockey fans.

  5. UNFORTUNATELY, BOB MILLER ( ROBERT LANE MILLER ) WHO HAD BEEN A VERY GOOD PITCHING COACH WHEN THE TORONTO BLUE JAYS BEGAN IN 1977 THROUGH ITS FIRST 3 SEASONS WAS KILLED IN A CAR ACCIDENT WHEN HIS VEHICLE COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE … HIS MOTHER WAS WITH HIM AT THE TIME AND WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED BUT SURVIVED … THE LATER POLICE REPORT FELT HIS CAR WAS SPEEDING, STATING HIS VEHICLE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COLLISION … BOB WAS A REALLY FINE PERSON WHO HAD A VERY RESPECTABLE MLB PITCHING CAREER WITH 11 DIFFERENT TEAMS FROM 1957 – 1974 AND WAS ON TWO WORLD SERIES WINNERS IN 1965 AND 1971.

  6. SPARKY ANDERSON HAD BLONDE HAIR WHEN HE PLAYED THEN MANAGED FOR US IN TORONTO FROM 1960 – 1963 AND WITHIN A FEW YEARS HIS HAIR TURNED WHITE BY THE TIME HE WAS ABOUT 35 / 36 … SOMETHING MANY ARE UNAWARE OF IS THAT GEORGE WAS VIRTUALLY UNEDUCATED AND WAS SOMEWHAT IN THE CALIBRE OF BOTH DIZZY DEAN AND EARLY WYNN WHEN CONVERSING, OFTEN USING ALL THE WRONG DESCRIPTIVE WORDS ALTHOUGH PEOPLE DID NOT CARE AS HE WAS SUCH A KIND AND DECENT FELLOW WHO DEVOTED A GREAT DEAL OF TIME TO CHARITIES ALONG WITH OTHER CAUSES HELPING PEOPLE AND WAS HIGHLY RESPECTED THROUGHOUT THE GAME FOR THE PERSON HE WAS.

  7. Pingback: Two 1977 O-Pee-Chee Cards Without Peer | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

