Crumpled Up Pieces Of Paper

If this blog were one of the TV shows I grew up watching, you’d see me sitting at a desk rubbing my face and next to the desk would be a waste can surrounded by countless crumpled up pieces of paper.  This is the fourth attempt at “something to post on Wednesday, December 14th, 2016”.
1983-fleer-john-lowenstein
It’s mainly a combination of writer’s block and lack of time.  Everything I want to write about takes more time than I currently have.  Everything else I’ve thought of takes longer to write than I expect, and then ends up a crumpled piece of paper.

But I keep trying, and the more I try the more unhappy I am with the results and the deeper into my mild funk I get.
2003 UD Vintage Hideo Nomo
…Which is all to say that it’s not outside the realm of possibility that my posting schedule could get a bit spotty in the near future.  Fret not, dear readers, I’m not going anywhere.

One thing that’s not helping are the tired bits of Christmas music that are everywhere right now. I’m not going to name names, but these songs don’t fill me with holiday cheer, peace on Earth and good will towards men. No, they fill me with “Aw, jeez, can’t you play something different?”

So with that in mind, I’ll share a Christmas song that isn’t one that you’ll hear in your local retail shopping destination…

The Fab Four are a Beatles tribute band who came up with a great way to make an album. They recorded a number of holiday songs using arrangements of Beatles songs… In this case, they’re performing “Hark!  The Herald Angels Sing” in the style of “Help!”.  It sounds a bit strange, but hey, it works.

In the Shlabotnik household, this is what we call Christmas music. Hopefully this makes up for the less-than-upbeat tone of this post.

7 thoughts on “Crumpled Up Pieces Of Paper

  1. JOHN LOWENSTEIN, A PRETTY DECENT BALLPLAYER NO MATTER WHAT ANYONE EVER SAID, WAS KNOWN FOR SOME RATHER AMUSING UTTERANCES DURING HIS 16 SEASON CAREER … HERE ARE A FEW OF THE VERY BEST –

    Lowenstein explained what he believed to be one of the great international trades of all time, insisting that the United Nations had to give their approval of the deal.

    “ A Mexican ( Hector Torres) to a Canadian team (Toronto) for a Jewish gringo (me) to a tribe of Indians (Cleveland). Now figure that out. It’s a three-nation deal at least. It involves money as well, pesos, Canadian, and American money. In fact, I’m the first Jewish Indian traded for a Mexican.”

    The irony was Lowenstein was not Jewish. The Municipal Stadium organist would serenade him with “ Hava Nagila ” when he came to the plate until Lowenstein let the organist know he was actually a Roman Catholic. After that, the theme song for his at-bats became “ Jesus Christ Superstar.”

    On birthplaces: You never know where you are born. You have to take your parents’ word for it.”

    On home runs: “ I have noticed that there are a lot of outfielders in the American League with great mobility, and the best way to immobilize them is to hit the ball over the fence.”

    On being a role player: “ I have endeavored to retain a low profile in baseball. The organization has been more than helpful in that direction.”

    On baseball statistics: “ Nuclear war would render all baseball statistics meaningless.”

    ” The problem with this game is that the fielders are standing on the wrong side of the fence.”

    HOWEVER, THE BEST OF ALL WAS WHEN HE WAS ASKED WHAT HE DID AS A PLATOON PLAYER TO STAY READY –

    ” I flush the john between innings to keep my wrists strong.”

    • Oddly enough, that quote on Birthplaces would play out well where I’m living right now.. (Peterborough, ON)

      It’s funny because he was traded BY the Indians to Toronto in December 1976 for Rico Carty, just for them to trade him back to Cleveland in March of 1977

  2. I hear you on Christmas music.. In fact I generally turn the radio off when it comes on.. I used to work retail, so…. Yeah…. lol

    I get the writer’s block.. Of course, I also have the whole “Am what I going to write be interesting to other people, or is it going to be something they already know? Or are they even going to bother looking?”

  3. I’ve been struggling with what to write lately. I have a backlog, and it feels like so much work to get all the cards scanned. Then to do any writing on top of it seems like too much to handle. I know it’s first-world problems, but that’s how I feel.

  4. Thanks for sharing that song. It’s awesome. I’ve been dealing with writer’s block since the start of the year. Hopefully both of us bounce back strong at the start of 2017. Happy holidays to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

