Fashionably Late COMC Black Friday #2: Hockey

Another batch of cards from COMC, this time hockey.  For someone who stopped following the NHL a dozen years ago, I’ve been acquiring a fair amount of hockey.

Back in September, I pondered working towards completing one of the 1970’s hockey sets I’d collected as a kid. I never formally committed to finishing either of the finalists, but I was leaning heavily towards 1977/78 Topps. As a sort of prelude for working on that set, I got one of the key cards on my wantlist, this lovely Guy Lafleur.
1977-78-topps-hockey-guy-lafluer
Ah, but the best-laid plans of mice and men… For better or for worse, the “complete a hockey set” idea has been shelved for the time being. There are a couple of things at play, but the biggest issue arose when I realized that most of my usual sources of cards are good for vintage hockey or recent hockey, but nothing in between. These are far from insurmountable obstacles, but it rapidly became more trouble than it’s worth to me at this moment. I’m sure I’ll come back to it at some point, but for now, it’s been downgraded to “Keep half-an-eye out for deals” status.

Usually when someone speaks of a “cameo appearance” on a card, it involves a HOFer who happens to appear on someone else’s card. Me being who I am, it doesn’t always work that way for me.

Exhibit A: This 1993-94 OPC Premier card of Hockey HOFer Joe Sakic.
1993-94-topps-premier-joe-sakic
If this card featured only Sakic, I wouldn’t look at it twice… but I was a Washington Capitals fan from the late 1970’s to the mid-1990’s, so right off the bat I said “Hey, that’s Michal Pivonka!”  Pivonka was a center who played his entire career with the Caps, spanning from the mid 1980’s to the late 1990’s.  On the Caps’ All-time lists, he’s 6th in games played, tied for 10th in goals, 3rd in assists and 6th in points.

I admit, I also like the fact that the Sakic card is like the hockey cards I grew up with in that the featured player was photographed while visiting the Caps.

I’ve been on a “Sports Illustrated For Kids” kick lately, and as I mentioned I was a Caps fan for quite a long while, so when I saw this SI4K card of former Capitals star Mike Gartner…. Could I pass up a card like this? Aw, hell no!
1994-sports-illustrated-for-kids-mike-gartner
No questioning this card was issued in the 1990’s… 1994, to be specific.

One of Gartner’s Caps teammates for four seasons was one of my favorite all-time players, Dennis Maruk.  When I saw that there was a 2001-02 Upper Deck Hockey Legends card which showed Maruk with the Cleveland Barons – he played both years of the Barons’ existence – I knew I had to have it.
2001-02-upper-deck-hockey-legends-dennis-maruk
Maruk’s got a full beard rather than his awesome Fu Manchu mustache, but we can’t have everything. He started out with the California Golden Seals and stayed with the team as it moved to Cleveland and then merged with the Minnesota North Stars. Two games into the 1978-79 season, he was traded to the Caps for a first-round draft pick.

So the first post in this series featured baseball and New York. This post features Canada’s national sport. The third and final post will go even more international, even while staying true to this blog’s baseball card roots. I can’t hint any more than that.

3 thoughts on “Fashionably Late COMC Black Friday #2: Hockey

  1. Lafleur card is money. I miss the days when hockey mullets flew freely. I went back to check Mike Gartner’s numbers and saw he started in the WHA. Dude played a lot longer than I realized.

Leave a Reply

