The Harlem Globetrotters To The Rescue!

I had another post in mind for today, but… well… events conspired to deprive me of time to finish that post.

So instead, I’ll feature three cards from two related Harlem Globetrotters sets… the 1971/72 Fleer, which stands at 84 cards, and the smaller 1971/72 Cocoa Puffs set which is 28 cards and originally came in – guess what? boxes of Cocoa Puffs.  All of the cards in the Cocoa Puffs set were also in the Fleer set, with some minor differences.

I’m largely sleep-deprived as I write this, so I’ll let the cards do most of the talking from here on out.

1972-fleer-harlem-globetrotters-19

1972-cocoa-puffs-harlem-globetrotters-4

1972-fleer-harlem-globetrotters-18

Here’s a comparison of the backs from the two related sets.

1972-harlem-globetrotters-fleer-vs-cocoa-puffs

8 thoughts on “The Harlem Globetrotters To The Rescue!

  1. Cool stuff. The Cocoa Puffs set is actually pretty rare or at least it was in my heyday of collecting, which predates Ebay, COMC et all, I’ve never been able to hunt any down for my collection. The Globetrotters are great. Curly Neal is my favorite, ever since he came to my school when I was there.

      • DO NOT REMEMBER THESE BEING IN OUR COCOA PUFFS IN CANADA, MIGHT BE WRONG, BUT AM ALSO A CEREAL BOX COLLECTOR SO FEEL I SHOULD HAVE SEEN THEM …

  2. A YEAR AFTER THESE CAME OUT I WAS IN A LOCAL CORNER VARIETY STORE WHERE THERE WERE 5 UNOPENED BOXES AND ONE ALMOST FULL BOX ON BOTTOM SHELF IN THE CANDY SECTION AND WERE RATHER DUSTY …

    AS I WAS A REGULAR THERE I ASKED THE OWNER WHAT HE COULD DO FOR ME IF I BOUGHT ALL 6 BOXES … HE SAID HOW ABOUT $ 20.00 WHICH WAS A VERY GOOD DEAL SO DASHED THEM OUT TO THE VEHICULAR MODE TO GET HOME SWIFTLY AND START SORTING …

    FOR THOSE WHO MIGHT REMEMBER, THE OVERALL ASSORTMENT WAS BRUTAL PER BOX ALTHOUGH YOU COULD MAKE SETS GIVEN ENOUGH CARDS AND HAVE A BUNCH OF EXTRAS IN THE END …

    THAT SAME YEAR THE GLOBETROTTERS APPEARED IN TORONTO SO TOOK A LARGE BUNCH OF EXTRAS IN AN APPROPRIATE BOX TO GET SOME SIGNED AND OFFER THE FELLOWS EXTRAS FOR SIGNING FOR THE CHILDREN WHICH WENT OVER BIG WITH THE CROWD AS THEY HAD NOTHING SPECIAL TO SIGN OTHER THAN THE PROGRAM …

    NOT THE GREATEST SET, OVERALL, BUT THERE WERE SO LITTLE FOR GROUPS LIKE THE GLOBETROTTERS AT THAT TIME.

  3. My Globetrotter story: ‘Sweet’ Lou Dunbar who is now a HG coach and was one of the great Trotters ever played for Guy Lewis at Houston when I was there as a student and athletic department worker. Before the fall semester on 1971 started he came to campus from his home in Minden Louisiana on a bus. I was assigned to pick him up and take him to eat before bringing him to campus. He was easy to spot, tall and skinny (he’s much bigger now) and I loaded his bags into my Malibu and he folded himself into my passenger seat. I took him to a chicken shack/soul food place I knew and then to Guy V’s house. We remained friends for a long time. I used to see him when the Trotters rolled through Houston but I haven’t been in many years. BTW…. He was a remarkable college player, the only 6′ 10″ point guard I’ve ever seen.

    I love these cards. Thanks for dredging up a fun memory.

Leave a Reply

