A Forty-Year-Old MLB All-Star Ballot

Back in 1977 I was 11 years old and at Shea Stadium for a Mets game. The ushers passed out the all-star ballots, I punched it out between innings and, for reasons I don’t remember, I didn’t get a chance to put my ballot in the boxes out on the concourse.

So here it is now.
1977-mlb-all-star-game-ballot

At the time I took the voting seriously, because you can see I didn’t vote for any Mets even though the Mets were and are my favorite team.  I wonder if this was after the June “Midnight Massacre” trades that sent Tom Seaver and Dave Kingman elsewhere.  Probably not, but I’m not sure when voting ended back then.

This is also interesting for me because – and forgive me, Mets fans, for I have sinned – I also liked the Yankees from 1974 to 1976, but moves like firing manager Bill Virdon and signing Reggie Jackson went a long way towards driving me permanently away from the Bronx Bombers… but I clearly wasn’t there yet during the 1977 season, because I still voted for Yankees favorites Willie Randolph, Thurman Munson and Mickey Rivers.

So what do you think of my votes?  How would you have voted in 1977?

5 thoughts on “A Forty-Year-Old MLB All-Star Ballot

  1. Likewise – I think I only see 1 Giant on the ballot (Speier) and only 1 pitcher represented. I’d forgotten how crappy we were.

  2. I’m sure Dodger fans appreciate your support for that infield. Your choices were solid. The only change I’d make would be in the AL outfield. I would have went with Rice, Lynn, and Evans.

Leave a Reply

