Pack Animal: 2017 Topps Heritage (Two 20-Card Hanger Packs)

Yesterday I ran over to Target during my lunch break, expecting it to be the first of many wasted trips… but much to my surprise, they had wax packs and hanging 20-card packs.
opened-2017-topps-heritage-hanger-wrapper
As the hangers were a slightly better value, I shelled out $12 for two of those …and another $2.50 for a box of Trix.  With cards and Trix in hand, I silently thanked Target for their new self-checkout lane.

When I was a kid on Long Island in the mid 1970’s, there weren’t many avenues for obtaining cards and the oldest cards I was able to get my hand on was 1968 Topps. Because of that, 1968 had a certain “cool because it’s almost as old as I am” appeal to me which is somewhat above and beyond what is deserved for an admittedly middling design.

So the question for me this year is whether my own fondness for the small handful of dogeared 68T cards I’ve had since childhood will carry over to this year’s Heritage.

And I also have to apologize for my scanner washing out some of these images… I admittedly rushed this post out, so I didn’t have time to try to compensate for the washout.

First card:  Giants team.
2017-topps-heritage-giants-team-card
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ. I’d rather have managers, who are absent from the checklist this year.  Boo, Topps!  Can you at least include managers in the High Numbers update set?

For a player card, here’s Danny Valencia… with the M’s?
2017-topps-heritage-danny-valencia
I’ve gotta say, that’s some pretty nice photoshopping.

The backs seem excessively yellow… or maybe I’m just used to time-faded ink.
2017-topps-heritage-danny-valencia-back

This answers one question I had:  fine-weave and course-weave in the same pack.
2017-topps-heritage-yasmani-grandal-javier-baez

Ha!  Richie Shaffer, one of the guys who did the “Grand Tour” this winter.
2017-topps-heritage-richie-shaffer
You might remember my talking about Shaffer in one of my Hot Stove posts.  This offseason he went from the Rays to the M’s to the Phillies to the Reds to the Indians before passing through waivers and getting outrighted to the Indians AAA team.  He was in the Reds organization (on paper) from 12/23 to 1/26, so the photoshopping happened (or at least started) during this window.

Strikeout Leaders. They need to crop these portraits tighter.
2017-topps-heritage-nl-strikeout-leaders

Aaron Nola!  He’s a player I collect after being impressed with him in a minor league outing.
2017-topps-heritage-aaron-nola

Then and Now.
2017-topps-heritage-then-and-now-frank-thomas-nolan-arenado
I like the design a lot more than I like the theme.

I do like these All-star cards… Sorry, All-Topps Selections
2017-topps-heritage-mike-trout-all-star

And there’s a Mike Trout puzzle on the back!  Sweet!
2017-topps-heritage-mike-trout-as-back
(I know it’s Trout because I pulled another piece later on).

Hatless Herman Perez. Seems like we need at least some hatless guys.
2017-topps-heritage-hernan-perez

I wasn’t going to open the second pack right away, but what the hell. I want a Game card!  And Mets and Orioles!

World Series cards. Oh, sure, Cleveland gets a card while the Mets got shut out last year.
2017-topps-heritage-world-series-game-1
Topps is just working towards annoying me now.

Got a SP in the second pack in the form of Mr. Kyle Schwarber.
2017-topps-heritage-kyle-schwarber

And those are the highlights of my two packs.

Now that I’ve gone through 40 cards, I’m a bit mixed about this set. The cards are generally pretty well done, but as they would say at my place of employment, I’m not sure the “Return On Investment” is there. For $12 I got one of 100 SP’s, 38 base cards, 1 uninteresting insert, no Mets, no Orioles, no Game cards – which I was really hoping for after recently completing the original set. Not even any parallels or variations (admittedly, these would likely get traded or sold on COMC).

I understand it’s a small sample size, but this was a mildly disappointing first time through.

And yet I find myself thinking “Maybe if I bought a third pack…”

4 thoughts on “Pack Animal: 2017 Topps Heritage (Two 20-Card Hanger Packs)

  1. PROBABLY WORST EVER BACKGROUND DESIGN OF ALL 66 YEARS OF TOPPS HISTORY TO-DATE …

    THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE ONE OF THEIR BIG SELLERS BASED ON WHAT YOU SHOW HERE AND SOME OTHER SAMPLE SCANS SEEN …

    YES, MANAGERS ARE A MUCH BETTER IDEA FOR INCLUSION AS AGAINST MOST OF THESE JUMBLED UP / TOO CROWDED GROUP SHOTS OR EVEN MOST GAME ACTION SHOTS …

    THANKS FOR THIS HEADS UP, HOWEVER, AND WE ALL HOPE YOU FIND A BETTER ASSORTMENT IN ANY FURTHER PACKS YOU DECIDE TO PICK UP …

    NO HERITAGE ISSUES ARE EVER SEEN YEARLY ANYWHERE IN CANADA WITHIN 100+ MILES OF WHERE WE ARE IN TORONTO HEADING EAST TO OUR COUNTRY PROPERTY … PHOOEY !!!

  2. I do know that Topps is issuing bright-yellow backs as a variation, as opposed to the traditional golden-yellow. Given that I have seen several pictures of the new cards out there with the gold backs (I do not yet have any of the new cards myself), is it possible that you may have a variation with the Valencia card?

  3. I must be having nine-year-old David flashbacks because these cards just look “right” to me, more than any of the previous years. It was the first set that I collected in a big way. Other than the small quantity I’ve sold I still have them.

  4. Pingback: 2017 Heritage: Let’s Try That Again… | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

