More Assorted Vintage Because I’ve Time For Little Else

All of these came from the last show I went to… or maybe the show before that. Does it really matter? Nope, not really.

I got this Hal Lanier because I spent a short time using the All-Star Rookie trophy as an excuse to buy vintage cards.  I’ve backed off on that goal just because I had far to many goals in 2016.

In 1964, Lanier batted .274 with 40 runs scored and 16 doubles in 98 games… Not too shabby for a 2nd baseman back when offense was more or less icing on the middle infielder cake.  I think of Hal Lanier as a manager first (Astros in the late ’80’s) and as a Yankee second, even though he only played 95 games in pinstripes… but the beloved 1974 set – my first – shows Lanier with the Yankees, so end of story.

Reasons for buying this next card:  1)  I like it, 2)  it was cheap, 3) I enjoy saying “Rico Petrocelli”.

Rico hit 2 homers in game 6 of the 1967 World Series, and batted .308 in the 1975 World Series.

This Dick Howser card was also fairly cheap, and I can’t resist cheap 1963 Fleer.  I’ve only got 8 of them, but someday when I’m looking for a new vintage challenge, I may go after this abbreviated 66 card set.  Maybe.

Dick Howser is another guy I think of as a manager and a Yankee…  He managed the Royals in the 1980’s and was a Yankees coach during my formative years.  Howser died tragically from a brain tumor in 1987.  He was 51 when he passed, which I’ve always viewed as sad and tragic, but it’s admittedly even more sad and tragic to me now that I’m 51.

Established after his passing, the Dick Howser Trophy is awarded annually to the collegiate player of the year.  Somewhat-recent winners have included David Price, Buster Posey, Stephen Strasburg and Kris Bryant.

4 thoughts on “More Assorted Vintage Because I’ve Time For Little Else

  1. I also always had an infinity towards Rico Petrocelli. My first baseball glove was a Spalding Rico Petrocelli autographed model. I had no idea who he was but the glove fit.

  2. A LITTLE BIT OF KANSAS CITY ATHLETICS HISTORY READERS MIGHT FIND OF INTEREST IS THAT AFTER VERY LAST GAME THE KANSAS CITY ATHLETICS EVER PLAYED AT SPRING TRAINING IN WEST PALM BEACH IN 1962 DICK HOWSER CAME OFF FIELD, TOOK OFF HIS HAT AND PUT IT ON MY HEAD AS MY MOTHER AND I ALWAYS SAT IN FIRST TWO SEATS RIGHT AT THEIR DUGOUT AND HE WAS OUR FAVOURITE ON THE TEAM BEING A NATIVE OF WEST PALM BEACH …

    YEARS LATER IN TORONTO WHEN I WAS DOWN AT THE HOTEL TALKING WITH PLAYERS, IN LINING UP INTERVIEWS AND TIMES FOR SHOOTING THEIR PHOTOS AT EXHIBITION STADIUM, I BROUGHT THE CAP TO SHOW DICK WHICH HE RECOGNIZED STRAIGHT OFF AS HIS OWN HOWEVER COULD NOT RECALL THAT MOMENT IN TIME SO LONG AGO WHICH I PUT DOWN TO HIS ONGOING MENTAL HEALTH PROBLEMS AS IN THE LAST YEARS HE RELIED HEAVILY ON NOTES AND HIS COACHES TO RUN THINGS … DICK WAS A REALLY FINE GENTLEMAN, NOT A PERSON ANYBODY COULD EVER SAY ANYTHING ADVERSE ABOUT.

  3. I got bit by the ’63 Fleer bug last year. They are really nice cards and a neat period set showing the new post-62 expansion teams and some old style uniforms. Lots of commons in the set but there are a bunch of pricey stars including Koufax, Clemente and Mays. I am about half way thru the set and still need to pony up for some of the big boys.

Leave a Reply

