Oddball Odyssey: Two 1984 7-Eleven Slurpee Phillies “Coins”

Today’s oddballs are a couple of plastic “coins” which are similar to the Sportflics cards of the late 1980’s and early 1990’s.

Back in the mid-1980’s, 7-Eleven stores featured baseball “coins” which – if I remember correctly – came on the bottom of large Slurpee cups.  The two I have in my collection are ones I picked up when I was spending some time with friends in Pennsylvania.  Both are from 1984, and both feature Phillies players of the day.

The image on the front of the coin changed based on the angle you looked at it, so I had to play some games to photograph these.

In 1984, the Phillies were coming off of a N.L. Championship (they lost the World Series to the O’s in 5) and John Denny was coming off a Cy Young-winning season.

Denny went 19-6 with a 2.37 ERA and a 1.162 WHIP.  In the World Series he won game 1 and lost game 4.

Here’s the back.  Who knows why this is coin “XIX of XXIV”  rather than just “19 of 24”.

Bloody pretentious, that is.

My second coin features Gary Matthews, who was the 1983 NLCS MVP  (6 for 14, 3 homers, 8 RBI) and the 1973 N.L. Rookie Of The Year

“Sarge” was no longer with the Phillies when I got this coin, having been traded to the Cubs late in Spring Training.  In 1984, he’d lead the N.L. with a .410 On-base percentage.

For some reason, I had a harder time getting a photo of Sarge’s action shot.

The funny thing about these is that because I was in Southeastern Pennsylvania at the time and I “pulled” two Phillies, I never gave any thought to whether there were any Mets coins floating around.  I didn’t recall seeing these back home on Long Island, so I figured it was a regional issue.  Apparently I was wrong.  There are Mets and there are Orioles and a number of other teams.  The discs were regional in nature, but we’re talking “East”, “West” and “Central”, not “southeastern Pennsylvania”.

In researching this post, I found a commercial for these coins.  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Oddball Odyssey: Two 1984 7-Eleven Slurpee Phillies “Coins”

  1. Man – it’s too bad that these weren’t still around when I was a kid. My little league teammates and I obsessed over Slurpees and I can only imagine that we’d have bled the local 7-11 dry searching for these.

  2. Slurpee coins, Slurpee cups…7-11 sure had some fun items for baseball fans back then. I just read that they are re-entering the Houston market. They’ve been gone from here for 20 years I think.

    Joe…where did you live on Long Island? I lived in Jericho from the time i was three until the end of 2nd grade.

  3. This is the epitome of my childhood. After baseball practice, we’d ride down the street to 7-11 for Slurpees and if we were lucky, they’d have the cups with these discs on the bottom. Great times.

Leave a Reply

