2017 TSR: The First Official Pack

“If I could produce my own card set, what would it be like?”

That’s the question I ask myself every year when I create my virtual TSR set (…which is called ‘TSR’ because I used the initialism of “The Shlabotnik Report” as a placeholder name and then couldn’t think of anything better).

The succinct answer to that question is that my ideal card set would include managers, bench players and relievers… it would have a few inserts but still be about the base set… and most importantly, would have an original design which would look like something produced in the 1960’s, 1970’s or 1980’s.

Furthermore, such a set would be issued in four 198-card series and work as a ongoing document of the season in progress… Something which falls between the static “This is where a couple of hundred players were in early January” and the “Ain’t Nobody Got Time (or money) For This” beast that is Topps Now.

This is what I generally strive for, and was what I was striving for in the previous five TSR sets.

Last week I featured some “promo cards” from my custom set because I was ill-prepared for the “official release” – such as it is.  Thanks to a poopstorm at work, I’m still not completely ready, but…

Anyway, Let’s get to the wax pack, which is a true wax pack wrapped in wax paper, oh, yessirree Bob, you’d better believe it!

After all, there are no relics, autographs or 1/1’s in this set, so there’s no need for high-tech tamper-resistant stuff.

First card…

One of the things I noticed with last week’s “promo cards” was that the drop shadows which looked cool and seemed to make the lettering “pop” on my laptop sometimes just served to make the lettering look blurry when viewed at smaller size, like on a phone. Certain color combos look worse than others, so I might end up taking a cue from 1968 Topps and tweaking the design for the second series.

Here’s the first subset of the year, a Highlights card featuring the Braves new ballpark. I feel like Topps Now has supplanted proper “Highlights” cards to some degree, but it’s interesting that there wasn’t a Topps Now card for a new home field. Granted, a new ballpark is not a once-in-a-generation event that it used to be, but still…

From what I’ve seen SunTrust Park has opened to positive reviews, which I view as something of a disappointment because the Braves and their “Screw the fans, we’ll go where the money takes us” attitude is little too NFL for me.

I don’t believe that Jerry Blevins has appeared on cardboard since 2014, which means he hasn’t been shown in a Mets uniform yet… despite making 73 appearances last year with a 2.79 ERA and 11.1 K’s per 9 innings.

…But he’s a reliever with only 2 saves, so clearly nobody cares about him.

Rick Renteria puts me in a rooting bind. I’d like to see him do well because he was let go by the Cubs solely for the reason that Joe Maddon became available.

…but I really don’t like the White Sox and generally enjoy seeing them suffer. Sorry, White Sox fans… it’s not you, it’s Jerry Reinsdorf.

Wrapping up with Eric Thames, who played with the Blue Jays and Mariners before going to Korea for 3 seasons where he hit 124 homers and became Korea’s first 40-40 guy.

The Brewers signed Thames to a 3-year contract and cut Chris Carter loose to make room for Thames. It’ll be interesting to see how this plays out. So far he’s panning out pretty well with 5 homers and 10 RBI in 10 games.

That’s the end of this week’s pack.  We’ll see what innovations and design tweaks come in next week’s pack!

4 thoughts on “2017 TSR: The First Official Pack

  1. We seem to be in a new golden age of ballparks. Speaking of the White Sox, I think theirs is the worst of the newer ones. Renteria did get a bad break but the results speak for themselves. I’ve only heard good things about him. I guess there’s a bit of a history in Chicago, Doug Collins–Phil Jackson, Denis Savard — Joel Quinneville, Ricky Renteria–Joe Maddon.

Leave a Reply

