2017 TSR: Four Quickies Are Better Than Nothing

This post and the four customs attached were largely done during surreptitious breaks while working from home on a project that unnecessarily occupied a good chunk of my Saturday.

Given that this post was done on the fly, there’s not a whole lot of deep thoughts involved here today… but I hadn’t done any customs in a couple of weeks and I didn’t want to let it slide any further… besides, making the customs kept me from getting excessively irate with certain co-workers.

And so…


Greg Holland has been lights-out for the Rockies so far. At this early stage, he’s one of the best, if not the best, free agent signings of this past offseason.

Dovydas Neverauskas is the second Lithuanian to play in the Majors; the first was Joe Zapustas who played 2 games for the Philadelphia Athletics in 1933.  Baseball Reference says that Zapustas was born in Latvia;  I don’t know if this is because of fluid borders in the Baltics, or Zapustas was an ethnic Lithuanian, or because one of my sources is wrong.

Seth Smith has quickly become one of Mrs. Shlabotnik’s favorite Orioles.  I’m sure he’d be one of mine if I’d have enough time in the past two months to keep on top of both the Mets and the O’s (sorry, Baltimore)

T.J. Rivera has done a nice job of filling in for… well, half of the Mets position players at this point, but mainly David Wright and Lucas Duda.

4 thoughts on “2017 TSR: Four Quickies Are Better Than Nothing

    • I’m happy with that one as well. The “photo day” image of Neverauskas looking off to the side seemed appealingly old school… but I didn’t want to use it with the solid grey background, so I inserted a photo of PNC Park ‘behind’ him.

Leave a Reply

