PWE Playhouse: I’m Not Worthy! I’m Not Worthy!

I’m very late in featuring a package I got from CommishBob of the Five Tool Collector.  No mere PWE, this….  The padded envelope I received was filled with (mostly) vintage goodness and one very, very surprising card.

I’ll start with the most recent and work my way towards the climax (and what a climax it is!)

This Troy Polamalu card is from 2011 Score and was featured in a Five Tool post about an eBay grab bag.

Watching the Steelers isn’t as much fun since Heeeeeeeeeeath Miller and Polamalu retired.

Brooks Robinson on his final Topps card as an active player. We’ll be seeing more of Brooks later on (hint hint).

1972 Ed Kranepool. As you’ll see, this envelope had a definite “Kranepool And Brooks” theme to it (not to be confused with the “Boston Legal” law firm of Crane, Poole and Schmidt).

1971 Gil Hodges… I already have this card, but this is a definite upgrade.

Game 2 of the 1969 NLCS was not a pitcher’s duel as the Mets beat the Braves 11-6. The homer featured on the front of the card was a 2-run shot by Ken Boswell in the 4 inning which put the Mets up 8-0.

Boswell is at the top; Art Shamsky (#24) was on first and they were both greeted at home plate by the on-deck batter… Ed Kranepool!  Kranepool is everywhere!

Moving back five years to the gorgeous 1965 set, we have…. You guessed it… Ed Kranepool!

Because it’s 1965 Topps, I have to feature the back.  Don’t blame me, it’s a Federal Law.  (I think)

For those of you saying “Enough with the Kranepool cards already!”, I promise that’s the last we’ll see of Eddie in this post.

Bob also sent a couple of lovely 1964 Topps Giants cards which I love so very, very much.  I’ll let the cards do the talking.

Joe Christopher was drafted off of the Pirates in the October, 1961 expansion draft… That explains the black & white inset photo with the vest jersey and the poorly-rendered Mets logo.

After the 1962 season, the Red Sox sent Tracy Stallard, Pumpsie Green and a PTBNL (Al Moran) to the Mets for Felix Mantilla. That’s why Stallard has red piping on his jersey, and also has a questionable Mets logo in the small B&W shot.


And now we come to the unquestionable highlight of this particular mailing…

The card which made such an impression on me that I hired George Takei to do a dramatic interpretation of my reaction, which I then posted it to YouTube:

The card in question is from 1957.

It’s only my second Oriole from the set and my 5th card overall.

It’s Brooks Robinson and it’s his…

…GULP!

ROOKIE CARD.

After a minute of gazing on this beautiful card, George Takei was replaced by Jackie Gleason:

After another minute, Gleason was then replaced by Wayne and Garth

Needless to say, I was both stunned and overjoyed at Bob’s incredible generosity.

Before I wrap things up, I want to point out something I noticed in the writeup on the back of the card…

The last sentence says “He’s a superb infielder and can fill in as catcher“.   Oooh!  Oooh!  Did the immortal Brooks Robinson ever put on the tools of ignorance?  Immediately after reading that, I ran over to my computer and looked at baseball-reference.com… and found that, sadly, Brooks never caught in a major league game.

Once again, a tremendous and heartfelt THANK YOU to CommishBob…  I apologize for the delay between getting the package and writing about it, but I spent a lot of time thinking about what to write… and I’m still not entirely happy.  Thank you so much, that’s all there is to say.

4 thoughts on “PWE Playhouse: I’m Not Worthy! I’m Not Worthy!

  1. I’ve never figured out why the reference to him catching is on there. I’m pretty sure he never caught in the minors and in all the bios I’ve read (and there have been plenty) I’ve never seen a similar statement. I’ve checked to see if maybe the Topps copy writer got him confused with another of the Orioles on that club. Doesn’t seem likely. I wish I had thought to ask him in the couple of times I’ve spoken with him.

    Glad you like the card. I’m in the process today of catching up on my scanning, Your incoming cards are part of that. Thanks again..

Leave a Reply

