2017 TSR Custom Fun Pack #2: Continuing To Follow My Muse

As I mentioned in my last custom card post, I’ve been having a time trying to keep to my original intentions regarding the customs I’m making, so for now I’m just going to go with whatever inspires me, and put the assorted customs into an old-school repack format.

This post is more of a compilation of smaller posts than anything else. Almost like a “clip show” on TV, except these clips haven’t appeared before.

I read a couple of articles the other day about how the Dodgers are playing with the idea of turning Ike Davis into a pitcher. In defense of this idea, it was pointed out that Davis is athletic and was a two-way player at Arizona State.
This custom is in the style of the 1976 Wonder Bread football set.

Not once did I see another factor mentioned… the fact that pitching is in his bloodlines. Ike’s father is Ron Davis, who pitched in 481 Major League games, had 14 wins and 9 saves as a rookie, was an All-Star in 1981 and had 30 saves in 1983.

You know, THAT Ron Davis.


Former Oriole Nolan Reimold was a personal favorite of mine and had been named to the 2009 Topps All-Star Rookie team. A number of injuries, most significantly a neck injury he suffered while diving into the stands in 2012, took the momentum out of his career, and going into this season he’d signed with the Long Island Ducks of the independent Atlantic League.
This custom is my 2017 TSR design.

His time with the Ducks lasted just 19 games before Reimold retired from baseball. I wish Nolan success in his post-baseball endeavors.


Last week I featured a custom of goalie Marc-Andre Fleury of the newly-minted Vegas Golden Knights. While researching the 1970/71 Topps Hockey set (to see if the original cards said “GOALIE” or “GOALTENDER” or “G” or whatever), I stumbled across an insert from that very same set, referred to as “Sticker Stamps”, whatever that might imply. At any rate, I loved the design enough to make another Fleury custom.

This should be it for Golden Knight customs for the time being.


Last week the Mariners and Astros wore uniforms which threw back to 1977. You know me… if there are 1970’s throwback unis, I will be making customs of them! Since the uniforms were from 1977, it seems like the customs should be as well.

…or maybe 1978 Topps… I’ve got more images from this game I can use, maybe those will become 1978 customs.


From throwback to Fauxback… specifically my 2017 TSR Fauxback design (which I still suspect may be unintentional plagiarism). Back in the mid-1990’s my friends and I went to a local theater to see a collection of animated short films. My favorite of those films was “The Wrong Trousers” which I later found out was the second in a series of “Wallace And Gromit” films made by British animator Nick Park. I used to have a “Have you seen this chicken?” T-shirt and I still laugh every time I see the climactic chase scene.

Peter Sallis, who voiced Wallace, passed away in early June at the age of 96. Rest in peace, Peter Sallis.

BTW, this is my second “Fauxback” custom to honor a recently-passed figure from pop culture… this is not the “mission statement” of this custom design, just the way it’s worked out so far.

2 thoughts on “2017 TSR Custom Fun Pack #2: Continuing To Follow My Muse

  1. All great customs, but the double dip/throwback combo on that Altuve is a marvel.

    By the way, received your latest PWE a couple days ago, thanks so much! Look for a little something from me in return soon.

Leave a Reply

