By Popular Demand (And To Buy Time): My 10-Card Curling Collection

Because there was interest expressed in the comments of my last post – and because I haven’t had the time to scan any of my recently acquired cards – I’m going to share my collection of curling cards…. And yes, there are such things as curling cards, although many of the ones in existence (and all of the ones I own) are part of larger multi-sport sets.

All of these cards have been featured in The Shlabotnik Report at some time or another (so I didn’t have to do any scanning… Yay!) but have never been shown in one place at a time, so I will present them here and share my minimal knowledge of other curling cards out there.

This is strictly a “for funsies” collection, so even though there are curling inserts related to many of these sets (parallels, minis, relics, autographs), I haven’t chased them.


2014 Topps Olympic And Paralympics Hopefuls – base cards

2014 Topps Olympic And Paralympics Hopefuls – inserts
Games of the Olympics

Olympic venues

There are also parallels, relics, autographs and patch cards from this set.  I can’t find any advance notice of a 2018 Topps Olympic And Paralympic Hopefuls set, but I’m hoping that there will be one.

2014 Upper Deck Goodwin Champions


There are also minis, relics, and autographs from this set.

2014 Upper Deck 25th Anniversary

2015 Leaf Sport Kings (short print)

There are also parallels and minis of this card.


At this point, my collection is likely to stay at 10 cards for a while. As I’ve found out, there are more curling cards than I’d imagined there would be, so I’m probably going to take a step back and figure out where I want to go with this.

For the record, here are the other curling cards I’m aware of… Thanks to Mike of Not Another Baseball Card Blog for telling me about the two Ice Hot International sets!

1921 Liebig Evolution Of Winter Sport – Curling
1929 Churchman’s Cigarettes – #20 – Curling
1932 Sanella Margerine – #21 – Curling
1961 Wheaties Great Moments In Canadian Sport – #24 – Ernie Richardson
1977 Sportscaster Cards – at least 2 different Curling cards
1992 BNA Canadian Winter Olympic Hopefuls (includes men & women curlers)
1992 BNA Canadian Winter Olympics Winners (includes Women’s curling team)
1993 Ice Hot International (Canadian curling set)
1994 Ice Hot International (Canadian curling set)
2009 BBM (Baseball) 2nd Version – First Pitch insert – Mari Motohashi
2015 BBM (Baseball) 2nd Version – First Pitch insert – Sayaka Yoshimura #FP-09
2016 BBM Chess On Ice (Japanese curling box set)

6 thoughts on “By Popular Demand (And To Buy Time): My 10-Card Curling Collection

  1. Interesting collection. I don’t think I’ve ever watched an entire “match”, “game” or whatever the correct term is. I know a few people who love watching the sport during the Olympics though. I really like the Sport Kings card. Normally unlicensed cards aren’t my thing, but that product is fantastic.

    • I got an understanding of curling during the 2010 Olympics and really got into it during the 2014 games.

      This Kevin Martin card is the only Sport Kings card I’m familiar with. Guess I should check out the rest of the set.

Leave a Reply

