Big Men On Big Cards: Five From 1970 Topps Super Football

Much like the Red Man Tobacco cards I shared last week, at the show I recently attended I ran across a small stack of five 1970 Topps Super Football cards. For those who aren’t familiar with the baseball and football “Super” cards of the early 1970’s, they’re 3.125″ x 5.25″ and very thick. I’m not a huge football collector, but I love oversized cards and I fell in love with this set a couple of years ago when I got a couple of these in a large box of loose cards I’d bought.

I saw one card from my wantlist – the one I’m leading off with in this post – and asked the dealer how much he wanted for these cards. He said “$1 each” so I handed him a $5 bill and took them all.

I’ve been a Steelers fan since the 1980’s, so the one card from this set that I flagged as a “want” was the lone Steeler in the set, wide receiver Roy Jefferson.  Jefferson had over 1,000 receiving yards in both 1968 and 1969 and was named to three Pro Bowls.

You might think it strange that the Steelers would be represented by only one card, but you should know that the Steelers were a bad team through much of the 1960’s, and in 1970 were coming off of a 1-13 season… so one card is honestly all they deserved. As it is, Roy Jefferson didn’t even play for the Black ‘N Gold in 1970, he was with the Baltimore Colts.

For those who aren’t familiar with these cards, here’s the back of Jefferson’s card.

It’s largely the same as the back of Jefferson’s regular 1970 card, but the aspect ratio is a bit different.

Christian Adolph “Sonny” Jurgensen was a HOF quarterback with the Eagles and Redskins. He lead the league in passing yards five times.

The back of the card says that in 1967 Sonny set NFL records in attempts, completions and yardage.  The season was 14 games back then, so it’s not surprising that these records no longer stand, but how high do you think those seasons rank overall?  Top 10?  Top 50?  Top 100?  How about none of Sonny’s three records being in the top 200 now.  This is why I have little patience for “This record will never be broken” or “We’ll never have a 30 game winner again”.  Things change.  Back in the 1980’s I enjoyed the Canadian Football League because it had more passing.  Now I yell at Ben Roethlisberger on my TV telling him to run the freakin’ ball and that he doesn’t have to win the game all by his damn self.

…Anyway…

Getting back to Sonny Jurgensen’s card, I liked the cartoon so I include it here.

This next card saw Calvin Hill coming off of a rookie season where he rushed for 942 yards. He was named to four Pro Bowls and also played for the Redskins and Browns.

Calvin Hill went to Yale and was second in the NFL in rushing in 1969.  Before I throw out more numbers I should point out that 1969 the AFL was in its last season as a separate league… I forgot that myself until I started researching some of these players.

Danny Abramowicz had a career year in 1969, leading the league with 73 receptions and getting 1015 receiving yards. He’d never quite match those numbers again, but he had a very good 7 year career.

Remember what I said about “Big Men” in the subject line? That doesn’t really apply to Dick Post, who is 5″9″ and lead the AFL with 873 rushing yards in 1969.  The back of this card describes him as “the most spectacular little man who’s playing regularly in pro football today”.  Um… OK.  I’m 5’8″ and I’m not sure how I’d react to being called a “spectacular little man”.

It *is* interesting that the photographer captured him from a low angle, though.

Dick Post – no, he’s not related to Dick Pole or Lance Johnson – also had a cartoon that I liked.

5 thoughts on “Big Men On Big Cards: Five From 1970 Topps Super Football

  1. Love these Topps Supers from back in the day. I was never a collector — focused entirely on collecting the regular season player cards — but seeing them now is a breath of fresh air. Only negative on these are the cheesy ‘autographs’ on each card. If you can’t/won’t get an actual autograph to reproduce on the cards, why bother with such a sterile fake signature? Only cheapens the otherwise superb product.

Leave a Reply

