Saturday Side Trip: Track #3 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

Before getting into the third track from the three FrankenAlbums (mine, yours and cover versions), I’ll do a recap of the prior two tracks… Starting with the results of last week’s poll. “Something” off of the Abbey Road album won a very tight contest, edging out “Eleanor Rigby”, “The Night Before” and “Yer Blues”.  10 of the 13 tracks got at least one vote.

Here’s where we stand right now:
My FrankenAlbum: 1)  “Help”; 2)  “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)”
Your FrankenAlbum: 1)  “A Hard Day’s Night”; 2)  “Something”
My Favorite Covers FrankenAlbum: 1)  “Come Together” by Aerosmith; 2)  “With A Little Help From My Friends” by Joe Cocker.

If you want to see the prior posts, you can click on the “Beatles FrankenAlbum” link at the bottom of this post.

I decided to shake up the “tournament” seeding this time around. I’ll still have the “White Album Play-In” round, but after that I’m going to seed the songs alphabetically and we’ll see how it works from there. I’m doing this because I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue having the same albums “facing each other” through the entire series… specifically, “Rubber Soul” against “Revolver”, since both albums are favorites of mine and we might be eliminating a song needlessly early. The end result should, in theory, be the same, but this way might be a little less stressful for me.

White Album Play-In:
“Glass Onion” (Disk 1) vs. “Mother Nature’s Son” (Disk 2)
“Son” is a pretty song, but I can’t resist “Onion” calling back to earlier songs. After all, the walrus *was* Paul (despite photographic evidence to the contrary).
WINNER: “Glass Onion”

First Round:
“Across The Universe” (Let It Be) vs. “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away” (Help)
Hmmm… Two John Lennon songs, both among my favorites. Which to choose, which to choose…. HEY! You’ve got to… go with the song from ‘Help’. You can argue with me, but… nothing’s gonna change my vote…. Nothing’s gonna change my vote.
WINNER: “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away”

“All My Loving” (With The Beatles) vs. “You Won’t See Me” (Rubber Soul)
From John vs. John to Paul vs. Paul. It’s not often that I’m going to go against a song from my Holy Triumvrate Of Beatles Albums (Help, Rubber Soul & Revolver), but I think I have to in this case.
WINNER: “All My Loving”

“Anna” (Please Please Me) vs. “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” (Abbey Road)
“Maxwell’s” dark humor was what got me to buy Abbey Road in the first place, and while I like “Anna”, it’s a cover of an Arthur Alexander song.
WINNER: “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer”

“Baby’s In Black” (Beatles For Sale) vs. “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” (Sgt. Pepper)
Oh, dear! What can I do? Baby’s in black… and I’m frankly a bit tired of “Lucy”. However, I don’t think I like “Baby’s In Black” enough to bump “Lucy” out in the first round.
WINNER: “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds”

“Flying” (Magical Mystery Tour) vs. “If I Fell” (A Hard Day’s Night)
Well, this is an amusing matchup… “If I fell, I wouldn’t be flying, would I?”

Puff Daddy may think it’s all about the Benjamins, but I’m here to tell you that it’s all about the harmonies, baby.
WINNER: “If I Fell”

“Glass Onion” (White Album) vs. “I’m Only Sleeping” (Revolver)
Make note of this occasion… Two songs from my Holy Triumvirate lose in the first round.
WINNER: “Glass Onion”

Second Round:
“You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away” vs. “Glass Onion”
Gather ‘round, all you clowns. Let me hear you say… that “Glass Onion” is not moving on.
WINNER: “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away”

“All My Loving” vs. “If I Fell”
I honestly can’t chose between these songs, so I’m content to let the more well-known song go to the Championship round.
WINNER: “All My Loving”

“Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” vs. “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds”
I loved both of these songs when I was younger, my enthusiasm for both has waned over the years… I’m telling you right now that this competition is fairly well moot because neither one is going to be THE song.
WINNER: “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds”

Championship Round: “You’ve Got To Hide…”; “All My Loving”; “Lucy In The Sky…”
The Holy Triumvirate took some shots in the opening round, but “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away” is my pick for Track #3.


As for the FrankenAlbum of my favorite covers, Track #3 is running a bit more obscure than the prior two. My choice is “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” by The Hooters

You might be more familiar with The Hooters from their mid-1980’s hits like “Day By Day”, “And We Danced” and “All You Zombies”.  I first heard their version of “Lucy” on the King Biscuit Flour Hour (a syndicated radio concert show) and that version was the B-side to the “Johnny B” single.  This is a different but very similar version which is a bonus track on the current version of their debut indy label EP Amore.

And finally, here’s the your voting for Track #3… Enjoy!

 

7 thoughts on “Saturday Side Trip: Track #3 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

  1. I went with All my Loving. Tough call. If I Fell has always been a favorite. The White album showdown also featured two great songs. I also chose Onion. I have an Arthur Alexander piece of vinyl.

  2. MAN these are tough! I agreed with most of your picks but would have seen I’m Only Sleeping go further. In fact that one got my vote!

  3. I had to go with “You Won’t See Me”. That means my Beatles FrankenAlbum remains all-Paul! I mean, I’m a Paul guy, yeah, but there are plenty of John songs I love, too! “Glass Onion” would be a close second.

    My cover choice is “Baby’s In Black” by the Applejacks, the same group to whom they gave “Like Dreamers Do”.

  4. Yes, indeed these are very hard to sort out. It came down to two and If I fell got squeezed out by You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away on my chart. Just barely.

    These posts (and listening to the Sirius Beatles channel) have served to remind me of the astounding amount of great music these four guys are responsible for.

  5. I was at the Hooters show at the Tower Theatre in Philly that they recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour and the B-side. Only time I know of that a concert I went to ended up on an official recording.

    When I was 10 years old (mid-70’s) I was really into John Denver and his was the first version of “Mother Nature’s Son” that I ever heard. His version’s not bad but IIRC has a faster tempo than the Beatles version. Steve Martin’s version of “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” is the only other decent track from the Sgt Pepper movie than the two you previously mentioned.

    • I’ve got that concert on cassette somewhere, I’d taped it off the broadcast. I really enjoyed it on the radio, it must’ve been tremendous in person!

      Wow, I forgot about John Denver’s version. Thanks to my sister, that’s also my first version of the song… but I don’t think I’ve heard it since she and her records went off to college.

Leave a Reply

