Saturday Side Trip: Track #4 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

I think that Track #4 is where this whole “FrankenAlbum” concept starts to get interesting. “Biggie” songs generally don’t show up as the 4th track, so we’re getting into the deeper cuts now.

Before we get into track #4, let’s revisit the voting for the Readers’ FrankenAlbum.  I was somewhat surprised to find that “I’m Only Sleeping” beat out “All My Loving” and “You Won’t See Me”, with four other songs getting a single vote.

Here’s where we stand after three tracks:

My FrankenAlbum:

  1. Help
  2. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
  3. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away

Your FrankenAlbum:

  1. A Hard Day’s Night
  2. Something
  3. I’m Only Sleeping

My Favorite Covers FrankenAlbum:

  1. “Come Together” by Aerosmith
  2. “With A Little Help From My Friends” by Joe Cocker
  3. “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” by The Hooters

If you want to see the prior posts, you can click on the “Beatles FrankenAlbum” link at the bottom of this post.

White Album Play in:
Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da” (Disk 1) vs. “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey” (Disk 2)

Ob-La-Di! Ob-La-Da! …Will not go FAR!

Earlier this week I was thinking of “Glass Onion”, which was a candidate for the third track last week.  I started singing it in the shower and when I got to the end, my brain filled in the beginning of the next song… the intro to “Ob-La-Di”… and I said “OH, NO NO NO NO NO NO… I don’t care what this is up against, it’s not going anywhere.”

Then, to find out what it would be up against in the play-in round, I started thinking about what came after “Mother Nature’s Son”, the third track on disk 2 of the White Album.  After the end of that song — “Aaaaah, Mother Nature’s sonnnnnnnnn…” —  my brain filled in the beginning of the next song:  “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”.

…And I said “Aw, HELL YEAH!!!!”

It’s a rare occasion when “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide…” comes on and I don’t turn it up as loud as circumstances will allow. C’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon c’mon!!!!!

If this round were a baseball game, the final score would’ve been something like Everybody – 23, Ob-La-Da – 2.
WINNER: “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”

First Round:
Blue Jay Way” (Magical Mystery Tour) vs. “Rock And Roll Music” (Beatles For Sale)
I don’t know what to say about this matchup, other than…
WINNER: “Rock And Roll Music”

“Chains” (Please Please Me) vs. “Oh! Darling” (Abbey Road)
“Chains” is a cover and a typical album track from the first couple of albums. I like it, but it’s not a top song. “Oh! Darling” is a song where Paul leaves everything out in the recording studio.
WINNER: “Oh! Darling”

“Don’t Bother Me” (With The Beatles) vs. “Nowhere Man” (Rubber Soul)
Nowhere Man is pushing the boundaries of ‘overplayed’ for me, but I won’t let that stop the better song from winning.
WINNER “Nowhere Man”

“Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey” (White Album) vs. “Love You To” (Revolver)
I like “Love You To”, but it’s being pushed aside like a quarterback trying to tackle the huge linebacker who’s running an interception down the field.
WINNER: “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide…”

“Getting Better” (Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band) vs. “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You” (A Hard Day’s Night)
In my younger days I was painfully shy and had a hard time talking to girls (think of Raj from the earlier seasons of “The Big Bang Theory”)… something which has turned on its ear as I’ve gotten older because I now find it easier to speak to women than to men, especially given that here in Shlabotsylvania, conversation among men often hinges on hunting/guns, fishing/boating and golf… none of which interest me.

ANYWAY, the point of this is that in my single days I spent a lot of time on the outside looking in, and songs along the lines of “Unlike that guy who just wants to get in your pants, I appreciate the hell out of you” really spoke to me. So, while I really like both of these songs and will happily sing along to either when it comes on in my car, I’ve got to go with the one which speaks to me.
WINNER: “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You”

“I Me Mine” (Let It Be) vs. “I Need You” (Help!)
Wow, Track #4 is proving to be heavy on the George. George ended up with a lot of “I’m scum, I’m useless without you, get the hell away from me” songs, didn’t he?  Guess you can’t blame him for wanting to write his own songs (such as the winner of this competition).
WINNER: “I Me Mine”

Round Two:

“Rock And Roll Music” vs. “I Me Mine”
I honestly can’t decide, so I’ll just go with George.
WINNER:  “I Me Mine”

“Oh! Darling” vs. “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You”
I honestly can’t decide, so I’ll just go with George… Again.
WINNER: “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You”

“Nowhere Man” vs. “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide…”
…And the quarterback is picked off AGAIN! He’s at the 30… the 20… the 10… TOUCHDOWN!
WINNER: “Everybody’s Got…”

Championship Round: “I Me Mine” vs. “I’m Happy Just To Dance With You” vs. “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”
Sorry, George.  Once I got it down to the final six songs, I knew where this was going. Come on is such a joy.
My pick for Track #4 is “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”


Cover Version FrankenAlbum
Guess what? Same song, but different artist. A few years ago I got curious as to whether anybody covered “Everybody”, and I found a version by Fats Domino. I said “Fats Domino? Blueberry Hill? Aint That A Shame? I’m Walkin’? THAT Fats Domino?” But damned if it doesn’t work.

There are a number of other cover versions of this song, including Soundgarden, Kristen Hersh and The Feelies.

And now it’s voting time!  Which of these 4th Track songs would you put on a FrankenAlbum?

 

4 thoughts on “Saturday Side Trip: Track #4 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

  1. Ooof. Still reeling over I’m Only Sleeping beating All My Loving/You Won’t See Me. Come on!

    I went with Nowhere Man. You’re right, it’s overplayed, but still a great song.

  2. Gotta agree with Sir Owl and go with “Nowhere Man” here — still one of my all-time favorites by the Fabs. “I’m Just Happy to Dance with You” and “I Need You” are probably the runners-up here, and I’ve always thought the latter is one of the more underrated Beatles tracks.

  3. I’m with you on “…Me and My Monkey”. Just a flat-out great rocker. (Hey, I finally didn’t pick a Paul song!) The Fats version is indeed quite good. He does a nice job on “Lady Madonna” as well, although the cheesy background vocals on his version of “Lovely Rita” kind of ruin that one.

    I don’t want to pick the same song twice, so for my covers album I’ll go with the Wedding Present’s version of “Getting Better”.

Leave a Reply

