Saturday Side Trip: Track #5 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

As many of you know by now, I’m applying the “FrankenSet” concept to Beatles albums and creating a Beatles FrankenAlbum containing the (subjectively) best song for each track number. I also have a “covers album” in the works, and voting on the Shlabotnik Report’s readers’ FrankenAlbum, and images from the 1993 River Group “The Beatles Collection” card set… like this one:

Recapping the voting from last week, I found a situation I hadn’t given any thought to prior (which shows the level of preparation I took). We had a tie between “Nowhere Man” and “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey”, each with four votes. I considered naming “Nowhere Man” the winner since “EGSTHEMAMM” was my choice, but for now I’m just going to make it a “Medley”. Feel free to talk me out if it in the comments section.

Here’s where we stand after four tracks:

My FrankenAlbum:

  1. Help
  2. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
  3. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
  4. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey

Your FrankenAlbum:

  1. A Hard Day’s Night
  2. Something
  3. I’m Only Sleeping
  4. Medley: Nowhere Man / Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey

My Favorite Covers FrankenAlbum:

  1. “Come Together” by Aerosmith
  2. “With A Little Help From My Friends” by Joe Cocker
  3. “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” by The Hooters
  4. “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey” by Fats Domino

If you want to see the prior posts, you can click on the “Beatles FrankenAlbum” link at the bottom of this post.

I feel I should mention that I’m continuing to seed the tracks in alphabetical order (highest vs. lowest, second-highest vs. second-lowest, etc.)  OK, let’s start off the tournament with the “White Album Play-In” round…

White-Album Play-In Round:
“Wild Honey Pie” (Disk 1) vs. “Sexy Sadie” (Disk 2)
I completely appreciate “Wild Honey Pie” for what it is, but “Sexy Sadie” is certainly superior in any category you might choose… except maybe “Enjoyably strange tracks”.
WINNER: “Sexy Sadie”

Round One:
“And I Love Her” (A Hard Day’s Night) vs. “Your Mother Should Know” (Magical Mystery Tour)
“And” is a heartfelt love song while “Mother” is the type of fluff that Paul drifted off into in later years.
WINNER: “And I Love Her”

“Another Girl” (Help) vs. “Think For Yourself” (Rubber Soul)
Paul goes 2-for-2 in the first round.
WINNER: “Another Girl”

“Boys” (Please Please Me) vs. “Sexy Sadie” (White Album)
“Boys” is an interesting choice for a cover song, given that the original version was from the female perspective.  Changing the pronouns only makes it a slightly less interesting cover.
WINNER “Sexy Sadie”

“Dig It” (Let It Be) vs. “Octopus’ Garden” (Abbey Road)
“Octopus’ Garden” is possibly Ringo’s finest moment as a Beatle, and “Dig It”, which is just an excerpt from a jam session, doesn’t put up any sort of opposition to it.
WINNER: “Octopus’s Garden”

“Fixing A Hole” (Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band) vs. “Little Child” (With The Beatles)
And it really doesn’t matter if I’m wrong, I’m right.
WINNER: “Fixing A Hole”

“Here, There And Everywhere” (Revolver) vs. “I’ll Follow The Sun” (Beatles For Sale)
You’ve got to appreciate the song where each word in the title (except “And” of course) is used in the beginning of each verse… but after listening to both songs back-to-back, I went the other way.
WINNER: “I’ll Follow The Sun”

Round Two
“And I Love Her” vs. “I’ll Follow The Sun”
I like the way Paul & John sing together on “I’ll Follow The Sun”, but…
WINNER: “And I Love Her”

“Another Girl” vs. “Fixing A Hole”
On Sirius/XM’s Beatles Channel, I found out that the line “Silly people rush around, they worry me…” from “Fixing A Hole” was commonly misunderstood as “Silly Beatles rush around…” That has no bearing on any of this, I just figured I’d mention it.
WINNER: “Another Girl”

“Sexy Sadie” vs. “Octopus’s Garden”
The first four songs on my FrankenAlbum were all John Lennon songs. I’m going to break the John streak right now, eliminate the last John track and go with Ringo… because right here, right now, Octopus appeals to me more.  Like with so many of these choices, there’s a good chance I’ll feel differently in a couple of weeks.
WINNER: “Octopus’ Garden”

Championship Round: “And I Love Her” vs. “Another Girl” vs. “Octopus’s Garden”

I didn’t know what to say about this round, other than to announce the winner…

WINNER:  “And I Love Her”


Cover Version FrankenAlbum

I got caught with my pants down for Track #5, because I didn’t know any cover versions for the “track #5” songs.  After auditioning a bunch on YouTube, I decided to go with Phish’s recording of “Sexy Sadie”.  It doesn’t really stray from the original, but I enjoyed it the most out of what I found.

In researching cover versions, I found a reference to Paul being a fan of Esther Phillip’s version of “And I Love Her”, so I’ll include that as well

I’m very much looking forward to hearing your suggestions for a cover track.


And now it’s voting time!  Which of these Track #5 songs would you put on a Beatles FrankenAlbum?

4 thoughts on “Saturday Side Trip: Track #5 From The Beatles FrankenAlbums

  1. Tough choice for me between “And I Love Her” and “Another Girl.” Think I’ll go with “And I Love Her,” which makes A Hard Day’s Night the pick for three out of the five songs on the frankenalbum so far, I think.

    P.S — It’s quite rough, but there’s a home recording of Kurt Cobain covering “And I Love Her.”

  2. I went with “Think For Yourself”. My FrankenAlbum is starting to look like a better version of the Rock And Roll Music comp, as except for “You Won’t See Me” everything rocks pretty hard.

    You’re right about this being a tough spot for cover versions. I’ll go with country legend Emmylou Harris doing “Here, There, And Everywhere”. Oddly the Pixies have made “Wild Honey Pie” a staple.

  3. I fell off the Rubber Soul train (pun sort of intended) and went with I’ll Follow The Sun over Think For Yourself in this round. But it took a lot of thought.

Leave a Reply

