PWE Playhouse: A Surprising PWE From Dime Boxes

I recently got a PWE from Nick at Dime Boxes, and I was frankly amazed not only at the selection of cards, but also at the sheer number of cards he can cram into a PWE… And what we have here is not the full extent of what he sent me, nor did these come in a larger envelope… this is truly “Plain White Envelope” stuff.

This nice-looking card of Jim Palmer came with a 1998 Starting Lineup figure.  I’d be curious to know how many Starting Lineup cards I have now, given that I have only ever owned one Starting Lineup figure (Gregg Jefferies, if you’re curious)

I pulled a couple of these 3000 Club cards from 2016 Topps, but I had bad luck with players I actually wanted to pull.  This goes into the Cal Ripken collection.

Some of you may be surprised that the next two cards were my first exposure to 2017 Allen & Ginter.  I don’t ever buy packs of A&G, I just acquire them after the fact.

I enjoy any cards featuring “The Kid”, especially when he’s shown with the Mets.

Zach Britton is an Orioles pitcher, so needless to say he’d like to forget about 2017.  At least he knows he has a job for next year, unlike some of his teammates.

This year’s design is pretty nice… but it’s still PWE and dime box fodder for me.

As it turns out I got two Zach Britton cards, including this light blue Archives parallel numbered to 25.

This “Beef” Wellington Castillo card was also numbered to 25.

Another first… this is my first 2017 “National Baseball Card Day” card to enter my collection.

I think the nearest participating dealer was something like an hour’s drive away.

For whatever reason, I don’t run across a lot of “Broders”, but this one is pretty nice (speaking of Gregg Jefferies).

This card probably qualifies as the biggest surprise… I didn’t expect to get something as old as 1959 Topps, but there it was!

Willie Tasby got his career off to a promising start; he was the Orioles starting centerfielder on Opening Day of 1959, and he was named to the 1959 Topps All-Star Rookie team. He ended up as a journeyman, playing for four teams over 6 seasons.

This 1980 Kellogg’s Jim Palmer is cracked but still welcome.  I’ve been thinking I need to up my game when it comes to Kellogg’s cards.

These next two cards were very welcome after reading about TCMA’s “The 1960’s” cards over at The Five Tool Collector.

Danny Napoleon played 80 games for the Mets, spread out over the 1965 and 1966 seasons.

The back of the card says that Dennis Musgreaves was a highly-touted pitching prospect done in by injuries. I don’t know much more than that about him, but his career consists of 16 innings in 1966.

Another Kellogg’s card, this one featuring Neil Allen who was recently let go as the Twins’ pitching coach.

I’m not sure which Fleer Box set this Lenny Dykstra card is from.  Cards like this saying  “Limited Edition” reminds me of those card shows where every dealer has the same recently-released wax boxes for sale and many of them have the chutzpah to label them as “rare”.

I was surprised to get this Art Shamsky card from the 1994 Spectrum “The Miracle of ’69” set… not because I haven’t seen it before, I have… but I don’t recall ever seeing these “out in the wild” before.

Cards on the table, I already have the full set… but it’s a really nice set commemorating the 1969 “Miracle Mets” and this reminds me that I need to feature it someday

And speaking of non-vintage vintage Mets, there was this 1992 Front Row card of Tom Seaver. I didn’t know that Front Row did any Major Leaguers, but it looks like there are also sets (inserts?) for Brooks Robinson, Ernie Banks, Al Kaline and others.

Thanks very much for this PWE, Nick!  I enjoyed going through this and marveling at the variety!

2 thoughts on “PWE Playhouse: A Surprising PWE From Dime Boxes

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! I’ll keep stuffing the PWEs the way I do until my post office tells me I need more postage. They seem to be quite generous when it comes to that sort of thing.

    Picked up that entire Spectrum Mets set at the flea market over the summer. I’m keeping the ones I need for my player collections and leaving the rest “out in the wild.” Really like the look of those cards.

  2. I’d have lost big if you had bet me on how many games Danny Napoleon played for the Mets. I would have sworn he was there for 6 years.

    And there is something really…I don’t know…genuine about Kelloggs cards. I don’t know how to explain it but they are fun to collect.

Leave a Reply

