This Cheapskate’s Vintage Frank Robinson Collection

I’ve done a couple of posts in this series, and I realized that I wasn’t doing a good job of getting across one of my main reasons for doing these in the first place.

Well, sure, aside from the fact that it’s a relatively easy post.

…And also aside from the fact that I enjoy showing off these cards, some of which are favorites of mine….

But one thing I wanted to get across is that I am, by nature, a cheap person. I can count on both hands the number of cards in my entire collection which I spent more than $10 on… and yet, I have a collection I enjoy, containing a number of cards of HOFers.

There’s a healthy dose of “Look what I’ve got!” in here, but just as important is “Look what I got while on a budget!”

As before I’m defining “vintage” as anything before 1974 – when I started buying cards – so there’s nothing I pulled from packs.

1972 Topps

1967 Topps
I would love this card regardless, but…

I suspect that I wouldn’t love this 1967 card quite as much if it weren’t such a “Charlie Brown Christmas Tree” type of card. To quote Mr. Brown, “It needs me!”

1967 Topps (Checklist)

I don’t mind checked-off checklist cards, because they were used for their intended purpose and they tell a story… OK, yeah, maybe not a tremendously interesting story, but a story nonetheless.

1968 Topps (All-Star)

1968 Topps “Game” insert

1970 Topps (All-Star)

This is the back of the above 1970 all-star card…

1971 Topps (World Series)

The O’s beat the Reds 9-3 in Game 3, on their way to beating the Reds 4 games to 1.  The play depicted is a 3rd inning solo home run by Frank Robinson.  Paul Blair was on deck, so that’s likely him greeting Frank at home.

This World Series game, with a combined 12 runs and 19 hits, was completed in two hours and nine minutes (insert wistful sigh here).

1972 Topps (Leaders)

Frank Robinson had 99 RBI; AL leader Harmon Killebrew had 119 and Major League leader Joe Torre had 137.

And finally, my favorite of the bunch and the only Frank Robinson card I have from his time with the Reds…

1964 Topps Giants

Scans never quite do justice to these cards from the 1964 Topps Giants set.

3 thoughts on “This Cheapskate’s Vintage Frank Robinson Collection

  1. A big reason of why I love this hobby so much is that cheapskates like you and I can still build relatively strong collections of giants like Frank Robinson. I think the most I’ve paid for one of his cards is $4 — which netted me his ’64 Topps single (also my only one of him as a Red).

  2. I love that 1964 Giants set.

    Another early Robinson which can be picked up at very reasonable prices is the Reds Heavy Artillery card from ’61 Topps. For whatever reason multiplayer cards like that go for less than those players’ solo cards. I picked that up for a couple bucks recently.

    But I was lucky enough to receive my uncle’s cards from his childhood, including a very nice Robinson rookie from ’57 Topps. Might be the most valuable card I own when condition is taken into account.

  3. That ’67 is quite a card!

    Yup, the ’64 Topps Giant set is one that us bloggers all seem to love but is ignored by the hobby in general. My hotel show dealer has a box of them and they never move. We’ve talked about it numerous times.

    And that’s Paul Blair for sure. I remember leaving my freshman biology class walking over to the UH Student Center to catch that game and seeing Robby’s homer.

Leave a Reply

