Vintage Cards Of 1970’s & 1980’s Managers

I’ve got nothing prepared and I’ve got nothing to say, so I was poking through my folders of scanned cards from recent – and not-so-recent – shows, and I hit upon a theme that I like to collect to some degree: Vintage cards of players I remember as managers.

I’ll start off with Bill Virdon, because he was my starting point for this collection. Bill Virdon was the Yankees manager when I first started following baseball (and when I actually liked the Yankees). If you’ve been with me for a little while, you’ve seen your share of Bill Virdon cards.

This Billy Gardner card figuratively wears two hats in my collection: He played for the Orioles and he managed the Twins from 1981 to 1985, as well as most of the 1987 season with the Royals

Whitey Herzog is in the Hall Of Fame as a manager; He won 3 pennants and 1 World Championship with the Cardinals and three consecutive division titles with the Royals.

Here’s your Mets fun fact for the day… Whitey was a scout, coach and the farm director for the Mets from 1966 to 1972.

Steve Boros managed the A’s and the Padres in the 1980’s.

Because it’s a 1965 card and (unlike the Virdon above) I scanned the back, here it is.

OK, fine, this last card is cheating. Charlie Lau was a respected Major League batting coach in the 1970’s and early 1980’s – he died before his time in 1984 – but never managed in the Major Leagues.

One thought on “Vintage Cards Of 1970’s & 1980’s Managers

Leave a Reply

