Tubthumping, Part 2 – O-Pee-Chee, Laughlins, Etc.

Another batch of cards which I got from a plastic tub full of loose Card Savers containing random oddballs and vintage cards…

For whatever reason, this one tub had a number of O-Pee-Chee baseball cards specific to the Detroit Tigers.  I decided to buy three of them.

As the card mentions, the Brewers traded Jim Slaton from the Brewers to the Tigers in a deal that also saw outfielder Ben Oglivie going to Milwaukee.  I love 1978 Topps and couldn’t resist the combination of the Brewers uniform and the Tigers border.

Same deal, different teams… After one season in Queens (1979), Richie Hebner was traded to the Tigers for Mets legends Phil Mankowski and Jerry Morales.

No update involved on this card, I just like Rusty Staub oddballs.

Just to prove that it’s an O-Pee-Chee card, here’s the back

I’ve never really been a New York Rangers fan but I grew up in a Rangers household, so I’m kinda sorta working on Rangers team sets from my younger days. This All-Star card of Barry Beck is from 1980-81 O-Pee-Chee

Moving away from Canada and towards the two Fleer Laughlin World Series sets, this 1970 card which unfortunately reflects a Yankees win.  In 1962 the Giants were in their 5th season in San Francisco, so I imagine that a lot of New Yorkers said “Serves ya right, ya bastids!”

This card is from the second set in 1971, and features the Athletics beating the Cubs in five.  I generally prefer the 1970 set to the 1971, but I welcome both into my collection.

I probably should chase Pacific Legends cards more than I do, but I don’t hesitate to pick up some when the opportunity presents itself.

If it weren’t for the pricey short prints (hello, Grape Nuts) and HOFers, I wouldn’t hesitate to full-on chase 1960s Post cereal cards.  I still love picking up cheap-ish cards when I run across them. Cleveland catcher John Romano was an All-Star in 1961 and 1962.


I get no slabs
But I’m an oddball fan
You’re never gonna keep me down…

2 thoughts on “Tubthumping, Part 2 – O-Pee-Chee, Laughlins, Etc.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.