2016/17 Hot Stove: The Next Custom Comes With The Baseball Card Blogosphere’s Favorite Cereal

For some reason, I’ve recently had problems finding cereal with the 2016-17 Hot Stove cards in them. This week I did find one cereal box which came with the cards…
bips-cereal
Fortunately, everybody loves Bips.

I don’t know if everybody loves Edwin Encarnacion, but I’m guessing that a lot of people in Cleveland do now.
2016-17-tsr-hot-stove-5-edwin-encarnacion-cleveland-indians
I didn’t watch the entire 2016 World Series, but I watched enough of it that I found myself pulling for the Indians. I’m not sure why, maybe because, in that particular situation, the Indians were the underdogs, the ones who weren’t getting the attention, the team which had been waiting for a championship for only – ONLY! – 68 years. This is not to say that I was unhappy that the Cubs won, far from it… But I did feel a tiny bit of disappointment when that final out was made.

So, for 2017 the Indians have Encarnacion? That could be interesting.

I will say that I’m disappointed that Encarnacion moving out of the A.L. East means that there’ll be fewer opportunities for Orioles broadcast Gary Thorne to pronounce his name “Arn-car-NAY-see-on”. I don’t know where he gets that from, but it’s been a source of amusement for quite a while. I guess I’ll just have to make a point of watching when the O’s play the Indians.

5 thoughts on “2016/17 Hot Stove: The Next Custom Comes With The Baseball Card Blogosphere’s Favorite Cereal

  1. Bips for breakfast are a NYD tradition in our house. With 1% and sliced bananas. Yum.

    Gary Thorne amuses me no end. And I mean that in a good way.

    Great work on the card and the box, btw.

    And may 2017 be good for you, Joe!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.