No A&G? That’s Fine, I Got Some Simon & Gintfunkel Instead

So the other day I figured it was July and time for Allen & Ginter… I’d obviously missed the news that it won’t be released until August this year.  But while I was poking around in the local “Dolla! Holla!” store, I found some packs of 2013 Simon & Gintfunkel.  I’d never heard of it, but the packs were cheap so I figured I’d give it a try.

The cards aren’t bad, and there are a lot of subsets… For instance, I got this card from the “American Traffic Signs” subset.
2013 Gintfunkel Stop Sign

Here’s one from the “Stars Of Basic Cable” subset…  Moon Bloodgood was a Laker Girl and has also been in several movies, but she’s here because of her role as Anne Glass in TNT’s “Falling Skies”.
2013 Gintfunkel Moon Bloodgood

One subset I’m really excited about is called “Game Show Hall Of Fame”.
“…And here’s the host of Match Game ’76, GENE RAYBURN!!!!!”
2013 Gintfunkel Gene Rayburn

The only  insert I got was this mini.
2013 Gintfunkel Mini Cooper

Funny thing is that I didn’t get any baseball players.  Huh.  Maybe next pack.

8 thoughts on “No A&G? That’s Fine, I Got Some Simon & Gintfunkel Instead

    • I used to love coming home from school and watching Match Game… I still watch it on GSN sometimes.

      There seems to be a definite demand for Gene Rayburn cards! It’d be cool if there were an entire Match Game insert set in one of these “American Pie” type sets… Brett Somers, Charles Nelson Reilly, Richard Dawson, Fannie Flagg… How cool would that be?

  1. Pingback: Back By Popular Demand: More Simon & Gintfunkel |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.