“Hot Stove” Custom – A’s Get Closer Johnson From O’s

2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #13 - Jim Johnson

There were two distinct moments of surprise associated with the trade that sent the Orioles closer Jim Johnson to the Athletics.

The first came when I found out that the Orioles were shopping Johnson in the first place… I can understand not wanting to commit too much money to a volatile commodity like a closer, but it wasn’t like the Orioles had another closer sitting around waiting for the opportunity.

The second surprise came when the A’s were the ones to pick him up.  “Wait, the Athletics are taking on salary?  What’s up with that?”

I’ve got nothing against the Athletics, and this wasn’t JJ’s idea, so I will wish him all the best with his new team.

…and I hope that Orioles GM Dan Duquette knows what he’s doing…

I take requests!

Has your favorite player has moved to another team this winter?  …Or did your favorite team acquire a player?  Would you like to see that special someone “photoshopped” into their new uniform?

If so, feel free to leave a request in the comments below, and I will give it my best.

I make absolutely no promises that I will be able to pull it off – I’m somewhat limited by the images I have access to, not to mention my amateur graphical skills –  but I will most certainly make an effort.

 

4 thoughts on ““Hot Stove” Custom – A’s Get Closer Johnson From O’s

    • A week or two ago I was thinking of who to make a custom of, and I started thinking of who some of my “frequent flyers” might want to see… so when Suzuki signed with the Twins, he got added to my list of potential targets.

      …Which is a long, involved way of saying “Kurt Suzuki, comin’ right up!”

  1. I’d like to see a Hot Stove Custom card of Masahiro Tanaka with the Dodgers. But I guess you’d better wait a few weeks, at least. Diggin’ the cards, by the way.

    • I’d pretty much figured on there being a card of Tanaka, regardless of where he ends up… And as soon as he does sign, there’ll be a flurry of “Plan B” signings of guys like Garza & Arroyo.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the cards! I need an ego boost now and then. ;-)

Leave a Reply

