PWE From Shoebox Legends

Sorry, I couldn’t think of a more clever title than that.

I have a number of cards I’ve received via two of the proverbial Plain White Envelopes from Shoebox Legends International.  I’d already featured the two imported English “Footballer” cards from the first PWE in this prior post, but have not given the remainder of the cards their due.

When the first PWE was mailed out, Robert Whalen was a Mets pitching prospect.
2014 Bowman Chrome Robert Whalen
A few days after I received the PWE, Whalen was a Braves pitching prospect, because he was one of the players sent to Atlanta for Kelly Johnson and Juan Uribe. It’s all good because it’s a card I still want in my Mets collection, but the potential significance of this card will be back again later in this post.

Topps Opening Day is a funny beast for me… I often enjoy the inserts, but not the base set, so while I don’t buy more than one or two packs a year (plus anything I might get in repacks down the road). I always think I should track down the inserts later… and then don’t.  Ramble, ramble, ramble, my point is that I’d forgotten I wanted this card featuring Jose Reyes and Angel Pagan…
2011 Opening Day  Superstar Celebrations Jose Reyes
…Making it one that I appreciate more than your average insert featuring Mets.

During the 1980’s I generally tried to keep up on Traded sets and the like, but wasn’t always good about sets like the Donruss Rookies sets. As a result, I think this is my first card from the 1987 Rookies set…
1987 Donruss The Rookies David Cone
…and yet another type of set to add to my “Ya know, I really should have a wantlist for those…” list.

Gypsy Queen is a set I normally can take or leave…
2014 Gypsy Queen N174 Tom Seaver
…But any cardboard featuring the esteemed Mr. G. Thomas Seaver of Fresno, California is always appreciated in my household.

(I scared myself a tiny bit by remembering off the top of my head that Seaver’s from Fresno… especially considering I can’t always remember more important facts like the names of the children of my cousins and friends;  “Hey, how did… um… your daughter do in that… uhhhhhhhh… tournament thingie last weekend?”)

I’m such a big fan of Mookie, that it doesn’t even have to be Mookie Wilson.
2015 Heritage Mookie Betts
Any and all Mookies are welcome.

The second PWE turned out to take a good-sized chunk out of my 2015 Stadium Club wants, particularly for the Orioles.
2015 Stadium Club Gold Bud Norris
Like Michael Whalen above, Bud Norris (represented by a Gold parallel card) recently was asked to leave his place of employment. This is a disturbing trend in these PWE cards, especially given another Stadium Club card in this batch:
2015 Stadium Club Wei Yin Chen
Wei Yin Chen is one of 49 different pending free agents on the Orioles roster – I may be overestimating a bit – and I wonder if my having his card means that he’s not long for Baltimore.

I desperately hope that’s not the case for Jonathan Schoop…
2015 Stadium Club Jonathan Schoop
…Or Kevin Gausman.
2015 Stadium Club Kevin Gausman
We need both of those guys to stick around a while.

Finally, the crème de la crème of the second PWE was an additional 1960/61 A&BC Footballer card, this one featuring Ron Wiley of Aston Villa.
1960-61 A&BC Ron Wylie
Since I don’t know much about Mr. Wiley’s on-field accomplishments and I don’t know which British Football sites can be trusted to be factual and not be malware-laden, I’ll instead mention that my first reaction to seeing this card was that Ron Wiley bears a passing resemblance to Christopher Eccleston, who I know as The Ninth Doctor from Doctor Who, but has had roles ranging from John Lennon to Destro (from the G.I. Joe-niverse).
1960-61 A&BC Ron Wylie back

I would like to thank my benefactor for his generosity, and close out the proceedings with what I consider to be the unofficial theme song of Shoebox Legends, courtesy of Barenaked Ladies… At least this is what often pops in my head when I think of “Shoebox”… even though I trust that his Shoebox is not a “Shoebox of lie-ee-yi-yi-yies”.

 

2 thoughts on “PWE From Shoebox Legends

  1. Pingback: A Great Way To Kick Off A Holiday Weekend: PWE From Shoebox Legends | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

