11 thoughts on “More 1961 Topps Sports Cars

  1. I think your “few words” summed up this set nicely. I hadn’t seen these before, so thanks for sharing them. The colors are really great!

  2. Every time I see you post some of these I remember how awesome they are. I’ve still yet to pick up an example for my own collection, some day!

    • I stumbled across this set about a year-and-a-half ago and fell in love with it. There are a couple of Corvettes in this set, but I think most of the sports cars made at the time were imports. The US Automakers were too busy making big freakin’ sedans. :-)

  3. Love this set. I’ve picked up a handful of lots on eBay. Hopefully Billy and I weren’t bidding on the same lots. I’m slowly just adding cars to my stack… as soon as I’m over 50% there, I’ll probably get serious about building this set.

  4. WITH A RACING CAR DRIVER FATHER I WAS INTRIGUED BY THESE WHEN THEY CAME OUT AND WITH BUYING ABOUT $ 100.00 WORTH AT THAT TIME AND TRADING FOR YEARS AFTER THAT I EVENTUALLY HAD 5 SETS WHICH IS WHAT IT TOOK TO GET ONE WHITE BACK SET OF THE 66 CARDS …
    THE OTHER 4 SETS HAD A VARIETY OF THE WHITE/ GREY BACKS …
    THIS SET WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND IN GRADE 10 AS LIKE MOST TOPPS CARDS UNTIL THE LAST 20+ YEARS THEY WERE BADLY CUT AND WITH KNIVES THAT WERE SELDOM SHARPENED AS THEY SHOULD BUT ALL HAD AT LEAST SOME WHITE BORDER …
    AS SO FEW GOOD CAR SETS WERE EVER PRODUCED THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST ONE TO AIM FOR.

  5. Pingback: My Midlife Crisis – Trading Card Wizard

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.