Hot Stove: Your Minimum Daily Requirement Of K’s

I got very excited when I was shopping for cereal this week, because I found a box with a New York Met on it!  That’s a sure sign that there’s something good inside, card-wise…
doctor-k-cereal

So let’s see what’s inside…

Cool, it’s Carlos Beltran! Beltran made a big impression on me from his time with the Mets. I’m largely indifferent to him signing with the Astros, but I am happy to not have to look at him in a Yankees uniform anymore (and yes, I know he was traded to the Rangers for prospects last summer).
2016-17-tsr-hot-stove-7-carlos-beltran-houston-astros
If Carlos Beltran gets inducted into the Hall of Fame, what hat do you suppose would be used for his plaque? Beltran has played for 7 different teams over his career, with the most time spent wearing the uniforms of the Royals and Mets… although he’s played slightly more games with the Mets.

Turns out I was right about this box being special, because we also got a special bonus based on the 1964 Topps Stand-Ups insert.
2016-tsr-hot-stove-stand-up-64su-1-aaron-sanchez
The Blue Jays recently unveiled a new Sunday “Canadiana” alternates in observation of Canada’s 150th anniversary. They’re very… um… red.  Even the Blue Jay is red. I think I would’ve preferred if they just went full Canada on these and replaced the “red jay” logo with the maple leaf used on the cap… and maybe “TORONTO” instead of “BLUE JAYS”… or maybe just not go there in the first place.  But what do I know, I’m just a humble blogger.

What I do know…  Big names like Kenley Jansen, Jose Batista, Aroldis Chapman, Mark Trumbo and Yoenis Cespedes re-signing with teams they played for last year is taking some of the “star power” out of my Hot Stove set… Oh, and I’m running out of ideas for cereal boxes.  That pretty much covers it for today.

8 thoughts on “Hot Stove: Your Minimum Daily Requirement Of K’s

  1. I’m not really a fan of the Canadiana uniform. Or more to the point, I’m not a fan of them trotting it out every Sunday home game. Canada Day works..

    I hope it’s only for this year with the 150th celebrations

  2. BLUE JAYS ARE TAKING A GREAT DEAL OF HEAT FROM ALL DIRECTIONS OVER THESE PRETTY MUCH TOO RED TOPS WHERE IT GREATLY APPEARED THERE WAS NO SURVEY OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC TAKEN BEFORE THIS MAJOR MOVE TOOK PLACE …

    YOU CAN SCROLL THROUGH BLUE JAYS NEWS WEBS TO FIND MANY MENTIONS OF THESE WITH MORE TO COME, YOU CAN BE CERTAIN …

    HOWEVER, THANKS VERY MUCH FOR THE GREAT CUSTOM OF AARON SANCHEZ ( YOU ARE TOP NOTCH ON THESE ) WHICH HE HIMSELF WILL LIKE TO SEE AND SHOULD BE POPULAR FOR PRINTING OUT AND HAVING HIM SIGN A VARIATION OF.

  3. Whoa. That’s a lot of red. I’m with the masses. It’s too much. As for Beltran… I think of him as a Met. But it wouldn’t be terrible if he went into Cooperstown as a member of the Royals either.

  4. I do like red. And I like the leaf. I agree that it’s probably too much. Like the red light from Kenny Rogers chicken. I miss the days when most Hall of Famers only played with one or two teams.

  5. Gooden plenty cereal! Love the box. Dr. K! lol. You gotta start whipping up some cereal box backs, with those more complicated details for the cards. I remember when I was a kid eating breakfast, I’d read the cereal box. Especially the backs, which were always entertaining.

    That’s not just a Beltran that’s a “3-D” Beltran! He goes in as a Metropolitan, of course, although that Royal post season performance is really what made his name. And made me drool at the thought of the Mets getting him.

    Huge fan of ’64t pop-ups, great Sanchez.

    Blue Jays uni: I really don’t understand it. Someone thought, lets make it ALL red. Everything! Really blah in my book. Totally agree on the leaf replacing the bird. Even making the jersey base color a whitish pink would have been better on the eyes.

    What’s this cereal of yours taste like, compared to the other cereals out there? (crosses fingers & thinks Captain Crunch with Metberries)

  6. Great cereal box! Reminds me of the first Mets game I ever attended as a youngster. It was in 1984, and there were a couple of fans carrying an enormous, hand-made banner that read something along the lines of, “Strawberry and Special K, the perfect combination” (referring to Darryl Strawberry and Dwight Gooden, of course). Good times at Shea.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.