Doppelgangers: 1994 Score/Collector’s Choice Greg Myers

For a while in the 1990’s, I had a sort of sub-collection going of cards that featured the same play but different photos. I didn’t stop collecting these types of cards as much as the supply (or my awareness, anyway) dwindled as the number of sets declined.

I’ve been meaning to share some of these pairs for a year or two; Now’s as good a time as any to start with this lovely pair of Greg Myers cards from 1994 Score and 1994 Upper Deck Collector’s Choice:
1994 Greg Myers Score and Collectors Choice
At first glance, it looks like the same photo, but when you look closer you can see that the photos were taken from slightly different angles… but at the same moment.

Despite the way we’ve been conditioned for the past dozen years, this particular #34 with the Red Sox is NOT David Ortiz… rather it’s 3rd baseman Scott Cooper.

I think I figured out which play is involved. Since two different card companies used similar photos in 1994, I feel comfortable in saying that the photo is from 1993. If one looks at day games involving the Angels in Fenway, and then eliminated games where Greg Myers did not play, Scott Cooper didn’t get on base or scored only on home runs, then that leaves Sunday, May 2nd. In the 3rd inning Cooper is on third, John Valentin on 1st and Tony Pena hits into a 5-2 fielder’s choice. Despite the FC, the Red Sox would go on to score 3 runs that inning and won the game 4-3.

Does anybody know of any other “doppelgangers” like these?
I’ve got a few more pairs to feature, but I’m sure there are more out there than the ones I’ve stumbled across. Please let me know, and I’ll add them to my collection and feature them here.

11 thoughts on “Doppelgangers: 1994 Score/Collector’s Choice Greg Myers

  1. The only one that comes to mind would be Baerga’s 1992 UD and Leaf cards. Though, they are not exactly the same like the Myers card,they are the same play photographed from a slightly different angle and perhaps a split second or two apart. Does that count??

  2. I’ve actually been planning to do a post along these lines for a little while. I love this concept. One example I’ve found is Adam Dunn’s 2004 Bowman and Upper Deck cards. I’m pretty sure they were taken a split second apart, but from completely different angles.

  3. Pingback: Doppelgangers: 1993 Topps / Upper Deck Rick Wilkins | The Shlabotnik Report

  4. Pingback: Doppelganger! 1994 Topps & Collector’s Choice Mark Whiten | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.